Shepherd's Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
The nutmeg added a touch of flavor that really made the pie taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklinville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I made this recipe as is. I was a little skeptical about the nutmeg but was glad I followed the recipe and didn't improvise because the taste was wonderful. A great comfort food meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SavvyTech
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
My family liked this a lot. I will make it again. I did use a can of beef broth and poured about 1/2 the can over the mixture before topping with the mashed potatoes. Also, I mixed all the vegies with the meat and added fresh corn from the cob. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SavvyTech

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lynnwood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
I made half the recipe to produce two individual (rather large) crocks. I'm not sure how the original recipe would feed 16! I added 2T onion and 1 clove garlic to the ground beef. I added about 1 teaspoon each nutmeg, sage, salt, pepper. I thought that it still needed more sage. I used leftover mashed potatoes for convenience. Overall a very good recipe. Next time I will use ground lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
not bad, but too much work for not enough flavor...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
Good starting recipe. Kind of bland. After making this recipe a few times I decided to change a few things so people didn't have to use so much ketchup to make it taste better. I added more potatoes, more butter, and a can of beef gravy. It makes it creamier and gives it more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
I thought this was way too onion-y and I only used 2 onions instead of the 3. My husband loved it, but I didn't think it was that good. We will try other recipes. Thanks, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
I enjoyed this dish very much. There were some slight changes I made to suit our family. I used ground turkey instead, as we do not eat much red meat. I sauteed garlic with the onion in a little bit of olive oil with the paprika. For my herbs I used the ginger, chili powder, some sea salt and marjoram. I also added a can of diced tomatoes to the mixture. I then sauteed a frogen variety pkg of corn, green beans, peas and carrots. Added beef broth and flour. When I added the mashed potatoes, I put some French's french fried onions on top. Came out great! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lords Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
Turned out yummy thanks to previous reviews that suggested making a gravy and adding garlic and ginger to the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
I did a combination of all the reviews added some garlic to the mashed potatoes, I took a pack of brown gravy mix a pack of onion soup mix and some water and flour and mixed it with the grease from my meat to make a gravy. Then I put cheese on some of it because cheese didnt seem like it would go well with this meal but definately liked the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States