Shepherd's Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
Shepards Pie is made with minced lamb. Cottage Pie is made with ground beef. Incorrectly, this has recipe has been presented as the famous minced lamb dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2004
This is a great, quick version of one of my favorite winter comfort foods. If you had more time or the inclination, you could certainly add more veggies to the mix or use real mashed potatoes to make it heartier. I followed the exact recipe this time and was very impressed by the quickness of the recipe in relation to the great flavor. This working mother really loved serving her family such a hearty, home-cooked meal tonight. Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
Great recipe!! I did change it a bit, I added a clove of garlic and spiced up the meat with black pepper, 1 tsp. instant beef stock powder, sprinkle of paprika, chili powder and parsley flakes. I also put in some frozen peas. I made real mashed potato with sour cream and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2004
Great recipe! This was delicious! I used diced tomatoes instead of crushed, added a can of corn (drained) and a bit of frozen peas and carrots while waiting for the liquid from the tomatoes to evaporate. After reading other reviews, I think next time (and there definitely will be a next time) I will try it with green beans and mushrooms. Thank you for sharing such your wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2004
Pretty good. I added green beans and mushrooms so there would be more veggies. Also, garlic salt and an herb blend in with the hamburger mixture. I topped the potatoes with lowfat cheddar and black pepper and dotted with hot sauce for some added flavor. It was too bland without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2004
For something a little different, I used a ready-made pie crust on the bottom of a pie pan and filled it with the meat mixture, then topped it off with mashed 'tatoes. I used real mashed 'tatoes, not boxed, since hubby can't stand boxed. Very, very yummy mixture and made good leftovers. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2004
This is a very good recipe but I changed a few things. First off, it will be MUCH better with peeled and diced tomatoes instead of crushed. You end up with a Sloppy Joe consistency using the crushed tomatoes. Plus, I would definitely brown my beef and then drain off the excess fat before adding the onions. I added a can of green beans, a can of mushrooms and a can of corn (all drained first). Now that is some good stuff! My whole family LOVED it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2004
Great, but could use some adjustments. First, add thyme and green beans to the beef mixture. Secondly, if time allows, make your own mashed potatoes because it tastes a million times better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
This sheperd's pie was delicious and unique! My husband was expecting gravy instead of tomatoes. To make this dish even better, I add a can of cut green beans and I small can of mushrooms. It made it great--even my stepson loved it(and he is very picky). A definite must try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
Yikes, this was pretty gross.. I made it exactly how I was supposed to, the mashed potatoes made it edible for dinner, but definitely no seconds and no leftovers from this meal. Its still in the fridge and my husband makes fun of me asking if i will put it in his lunch. YUK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAHFLOWERS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States