Shepherd's Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
We loved this. I did make a few little changes: added some fresh garlic and diced carrotts to the meat. And I layered the potatoes on the bottom. Also added some seasonings black pepper, garlic, pinch of curry and a little chilli powder. I also did not use the full cup of cheese. Hubby ate half the pie in one sitting it was so good lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NewMommy0610

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Nassau, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
not much flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Made this at Christmas eve eve and it was really good. I made the recipe as wrote - exactly. Next time though - I am going to put a few spashes of worcestershire, and red wine along with a few dices (finely) carrots in it. This is a good base to work with though - I truly enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marisullivan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
This recipe is really good. I made a few changes though... I used stewed tomatoes and added a can of mixed veggies. I also added sour cream to the potatoes. I think next time I will use real mashed potatoes instead of instant, they taste better! My kids loved this dish and ate it for days afterwards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Very good and simple. Made with real mashed potatoes though. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
LOVE this recipe. I used diced tomatoes also after reading all the reviews. Delish. I also added some frozen vegetables and some sour cream to the potatoes to make them creamier. I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
this is cottage pie, not shepherd's pie, shepherd's pie has minced lamb. is much better if proper potatoes are used. i put beans and mushrooms in mine too and no tomatoes. i guess this is really the English version of meatloaf , we all have our own recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
This was pretty good, but not quite out of this world delicious. Leftovers were definitely better than the first night. I did add a can of corn under the potato layer, added a dollop of sour cream to the mashed potatoes, and added about a tablespoon of worcestire sauce to the meat mixture, all suggestions I took from many other reviews and I think they were all good additions. I will likely make this again, but I will probably try a different Shepherd's Pie recipe just for comparison next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GradysMomma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hollister, Missouri, USA
Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I took some reviewers advice and added more spices; garlic, worcestshire sauce, a couple dashes of hot sauce, pepper, and sage. I also used stew meat which I simmered until tender and added the tomatoes and onions to my water when the meat was almost done, skipping the oil. Some mixed veggies helped make this a well rounded meal. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States