Shepherd's Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2002
This is a keeper--excellent recipe. I made a couple of additions: 1) Used 2 14oz cans of Mexican style stewed tomatos in the ground beef mixture. 2) Followed my husband's suggestion and added a packet of Taco seasoning to ground beef/tomato/onion mixture. 3) Added about 1/2 cup low-fat sour cream to instant potatoes to make them creamier. Wow!! A Sheperd's Pie with a Mexican kick to it!! This is going to be a regular at our house!! Next time, instead of topping with plain cheddar, I'm going to use the Mexican mixture (cheddar, monterrey jack cheeses). Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2002
This was very good! My children enjoyed it, and so did my husband
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
Talk about comfort food! Great winter time meal. My variations: add frozen peas and carrots atop the meat mixture before adding mashed potatoes. Also, add a couple tablespoons of sour cream to the instant potatoes to give a little more flavor. I also made this with shredded chicken breast, which was good, but not comparable to the beef. Another tip: I didn't use but about half of the tomatoes, but that is a matter of taste! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2002
This tasted great, and we liked it even better the next day. I made exactly as described and won't be changing anything next time. I served peas on the side. It passed the 2-year-old test. Can you get any easier or less expensive than this!?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2002
Although this is a "Cottage Pie" & not shepherds pie (which has ground lamb instead)which many people mistake it for, including me. It is still one of my favourite meals, i add worcestershire sauce or HP sauce (i'm English) and a nice flavoursome brown gravy to the recipe. with freshly mashed potatoes & sliced tomatoes under the cheese....it is still a delicious meal :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2002
This recipe is very good! It is easy to throw together and serve with a vegtable. Its is something the whole family will love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2002
This is so tasty! I added a tablespoon heaping tablespoon of minced garlic. It smelled great while it was in the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Living In: Canoga Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2002
Ok - so I don't have kids - but the dog and cat thought it was awesome, as well as I. I will definitely make it again. The cheese on top was just divine - I may try this with my own homemade mashed potatoes next time too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2002
Shepards pie is true comfort food. I usually use my Thanksgiving, roast chicken or potroast leftovers to make my pie. I layer my meat, gravy, any vegies and top with mashed potatoes and grated cheese. Soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2001
We really liked this recipe as it is. I may play with the ingredients a little and substitute gravy for the tomatoes, but we will make this Shepherd's Pie according to Gaby's recipe again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States