Shepherd's Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2000
This recipe was awsome!! My 3 year old loved it and had seconds! I revised it a bit and used herb and butter instant potatoes and put a can of green beans between the mincemeat and the potatoes!! It was a hit!!! Thanks, Karla
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2002
This tasted great, and we liked it even better the next day. I made exactly as described and won't be changing anything next time. I served peas on the side. It passed the 2-year-old test. Can you get any easier or less expensive than this!?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2001
My husband and I both loved this recipe!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2002
Ok - so I don't have kids - but the dog and cat thought it was awesome, as well as I. I will definitely make it again. The cheese on top was just divine - I may try this with my own homemade mashed potatoes next time too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2001
I added chopped jalapenos....delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2002
This is so tasty! I added a tablespoon heaping tablespoon of minced garlic. It smelled great while it was in the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Living In: Canoga Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2002
This recipe is very good! It is easy to throw together and serve with a vegtable. Its is something the whole family will love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
Talk about comfort food! Great winter time meal. My variations: add frozen peas and carrots atop the meat mixture before adding mashed potatoes. Also, add a couple tablespoons of sour cream to the instant potatoes to give a little more flavor. I also made this with shredded chicken breast, which was good, but not comparable to the beef. Another tip: I didn't use but about half of the tomatoes, but that is a matter of taste! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2002
This is a keeper--excellent recipe. I made a couple of additions: 1) Used 2 14oz cans of Mexican style stewed tomatos in the ground beef mixture. 2) Followed my husband's suggestion and added a packet of Taco seasoning to ground beef/tomato/onion mixture. 3) Added about 1/2 cup low-fat sour cream to instant potatoes to make them creamier. Wow!! A Sheperd's Pie with a Mexican kick to it!! This is going to be a regular at our house!! Next time, instead of topping with plain cheddar, I'm going to use the Mexican mixture (cheddar, monterrey jack cheeses). Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
This sheperd's pie was delicious and unique! My husband was expecting gravy instead of tomatoes. To make this dish even better, I add a can of cut green beans and I small can of mushrooms. It made it great--even my stepson loved it(and he is very picky). A definite must try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States