Shepherd's Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
This recipe turned out great with a few adjustments. I added canned mushrooms, 1 whole can of tomato paste, extra salt and pepper,Italian season and garlic powder. I also used instant potatoes(it was a lot faster and cleaner). We loved this and will be making it agian! Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
Shepards Pie is made with minced lamb. Cottage Pie is made with ground beef. Incorrectly, this has recipe has been presented as the famous minced lamb dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2004
This is a great, quick version of one of my favorite winter comfort foods. If you had more time or the inclination, you could certainly add more veggies to the mix or use real mashed potatoes to make it heartier. I followed the exact recipe this time and was very impressed by the quickness of the recipe in relation to the great flavor. This working mother really loved serving her family such a hearty, home-cooked meal tonight. Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
Great recipe!! I did change it a bit, I added a clove of garlic and spiced up the meat with black pepper, 1 tsp. instant beef stock powder, sprinkle of paprika, chili powder and parsley flakes. I also put in some frozen peas. I made real mashed potato with sour cream and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2004
Great recipe! This was delicious! I used diced tomatoes instead of crushed, added a can of corn (drained) and a bit of frozen peas and carrots while waiting for the liquid from the tomatoes to evaporate. After reading other reviews, I think next time (and there definitely will be a next time) I will try it with green beans and mushrooms. Thank you for sharing such your wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2004
Pretty good. I added green beans and mushrooms so there would be more veggies. Also, garlic salt and an herb blend in with the hamburger mixture. I topped the potatoes with lowfat cheddar and black pepper and dotted with hot sauce for some added flavor. It was too bland without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2004
For something a little different, I used a ready-made pie crust on the bottom of a pie pan and filled it with the meat mixture, then topped it off with mashed 'tatoes. I used real mashed 'tatoes, not boxed, since hubby can't stand boxed. Very, very yummy mixture and made good leftovers. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2004
This is a very good recipe but I changed a few things. First off, it will be MUCH better with peeled and diced tomatoes instead of crushed. You end up with a Sloppy Joe consistency using the crushed tomatoes. Plus, I would definitely brown my beef and then drain off the excess fat before adding the onions. I added a can of green beans, a can of mushrooms and a can of corn (all drained first). Now that is some good stuff! My whole family LOVED it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2004
Great, but could use some adjustments. First, add thyme and green beans to the beef mixture. Secondly, if time allows, make your own mashed potatoes because it tastes a million times better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
This sheperd's pie was delicious and unique! My husband was expecting gravy instead of tomatoes. To make this dish even better, I add a can of cut green beans and I small can of mushrooms. It made it great--even my stepson loved it(and he is very picky). A definite must try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie

See a version of shepherd pie with lamb, mashed potatoes, and Cheddar cheese.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States