Shepherd's Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Added one can of corn for color, and some dashes of Frank's Red Hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
My mom has made this for years.loveit!Instead of celery try cream of mushroom soup.Gives it a richer,creamier taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
Just like my mum's!!! Only thing I would change is to make the mashed potatoes from scratch (with buttermilk for creamier taste and texture)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by drcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harare, Harare, Zimbabwe
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
My family enjoyed this recipe. I just added some Worcestershire sauce to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
I used this recipe as a base...it turned out fabulous! I used red potatoes, mashed in some horseradish, sour cream, and garlic salt. I also added a can of veggie soup to the beef, along with some paprika and chili powder. I omitted the beef stock, as the veggie soup is made in a beef stock. I gave the beef a few spoonfuls of salsa and tomato sauce just for an extra kick. I had to let the beef cook a little longer to make sure it wasnt too runny. I made the mistake of adding about 2 tablespoons of milk to my potatoes...they didnt really need it and they made them too soft. Probably could have fixed this by baking a little longer, but the smell coming from the oven wouldnt allow me to wait anymore. I will definatly be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle F

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Bitburg, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
Fundamentally, it was a great recipe but I made the following changes: added garlic powder and Worchestershire sauce to the meat mixture, added a layer of canned corn between the potatoes and meat, topped with ketchup instead of cheese. Baked for 40 minutes at 375. The Shepherd's Pie was super!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
My friends and I really loved this meal. I added spices to the meat mixture after the tomatoes had 3/4 reduced. Garlic powder, salt, pepper, pinch of chili powder, and a pinch of paprika. You could add any of your favorite spices to make it your own. I also added a thin layer of corn (2 cups). This was my first time making it and I have a feeling I will be making this one alot in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
Excellent recipe! This was the first time I've made Shepherds Pie and I will definitely make this again. The only thing I added were green beans and corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
Relatively easy and a crowd pleaser. I substituted Morningstar Farms soy meat crumblers for the ground beef for an excellent vegetarian dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
this isn't bad for a starter recipe...i did a bunch of things different though for my husband's and I's taste. We like spicy things so instead of crushed tomatoes, i added a can of rotel tomatoes....also, i use cajun spice in almost everything i cook, so i added that to the ground beef....forgot the onion, and used garlic. also, added some corn. i guess you can say i made the mexican version of this dish. It was really good. I'm not a huge fan of shephard pie but this is good. thanks for sharing the recipe. i like to get creative with a basic recipe....thanks again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULY2501

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States