Shepherd's Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I took some reviewers advice and added more spices; garlic, worcestshire sauce, a couple dashes of hot sauce, pepper, and sage. I also used stew meat which I simmered until tender and added the tomatoes and onions to my water when the meat was almost done, skipping the oil. Some mixed veggies helped make this a well rounded meal. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Added one can of corn for color, and some dashes of Frank's Red Hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
My mom has made this for years.loveit!Instead of celery try cream of mushroom soup.Gives it a richer,creamier taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
Just like my mum's!!! Only thing I would change is to make the mashed potatoes from scratch (with buttermilk for creamier taste and texture)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by drcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harare, Harare, Zimbabwe
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
My family enjoyed this recipe. I just added some Worcestershire sauce to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
I used this recipe as a base...it turned out fabulous! I used red potatoes, mashed in some horseradish, sour cream, and garlic salt. I also added a can of veggie soup to the beef, along with some paprika and chili powder. I omitted the beef stock, as the veggie soup is made in a beef stock. I gave the beef a few spoonfuls of salsa and tomato sauce just for an extra kick. I had to let the beef cook a little longer to make sure it wasnt too runny. I made the mistake of adding about 2 tablespoons of milk to my potatoes...they didnt really need it and they made them too soft. Probably could have fixed this by baking a little longer, but the smell coming from the oven wouldnt allow me to wait anymore. I will definatly be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle F

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Bitburg, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
Fundamentally, it was a great recipe but I made the following changes: added garlic powder and Worchestershire sauce to the meat mixture, added a layer of canned corn between the potatoes and meat, topped with ketchup instead of cheese. Baked for 40 minutes at 375. The Shepherd's Pie was super!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
My friends and I really loved this meal. I added spices to the meat mixture after the tomatoes had 3/4 reduced. Garlic powder, salt, pepper, pinch of chili powder, and a pinch of paprika. You could add any of your favorite spices to make it your own. I also added a thin layer of corn (2 cups). This was my first time making it and I have a feeling I will be making this one alot in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
Excellent recipe! This was the first time I've made Shepherds Pie and I will definitely make this again. The only thing I added were green beans and corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
Relatively easy and a crowd pleaser. I substituted Morningstar Farms soy meat crumblers for the ground beef for an excellent vegetarian dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie

See a version of shepherd pie with lamb, mashed potatoes, and Cheddar cheese.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States