Shepherd's Pie Daddy's Way Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Love it! The cream of mushroom makes the hamburg so much tastier. Also, this pie is so versatile...I added peas, carrots and used instant potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany
Home Town: Gloucester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
I make this when it's cold and dreary out (or when I need a quick & easy recipe)! However, instead of cream of mushroom soup I add a packet of dry onion soup mix and water while browning the ground beef. I put mashed potatoes on the bottom, a layer of the meat, a layer of frozen corn, another layer of potatoes, meat & corn then top it with shredded velveeta cheese and bake until cheese melts and it is hot all the way through! Great easy meal and reheats beautifully! You could probably even freeze it but I haven't tried that yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Great recipe - followed it exactly. My "very picky" children loved it! Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Fast, fast, fast. I used instant potatoes and regular cream of mushroom soup. I didn't have American cheese on hand and used slices of cheddar, and it turned out just fine. I also added about half a can of peas. British hubby says it's not as good as his mother's, but he was still pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
This was excellent. I'm always on the lookout for budget/time friendly meals and this fit the bill. I did make some changes to fit personal taste/preference. After reading some of the reviews I decided to add some spices for flavor. After browning and draining the grease from the hamburger I added 1/2 t. dried basil and about 2 cloves minced garlic to the hamburger and let that cook for a few minutes before adding the soup. I used regular cream of mushroom soup (generic brand) to keep cost down. I added about 1 1/2 c. frozen corn on top of the hamburger mixture, then the cheese slices. Instead of using "real" potatoes, to save on time, I made 4 servings of instant mashed potatoes as per the directions on the box (with a little extra butter as I always do) then topped it off with a sprinkling of fresh ground pepper. I let it bake until it started to brown slightly on top and it turned out wonderful! A great budget and time friendly meal that both my husband and I enjoyed. I've made this twice already as it's become one of our "regular" meal items. Easy and versitle, definately a keeper for my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
Delicious! Especially as left overs. I added steamed carrots to the top which really helped. Of course I used shredded cheddar cheese instead of sliced american. And I only used regular cream of mushroom, but either way will be wonderful I'm sure. I also added onions, chopped celery and white pepper to the hamburger meat while it was cooking. Absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Hogan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waxahachie, Texas, USA
Living In: Willis, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
My husband doesn't usually like caseroles & I love them. I added green beans & used cream of mushroom with roasted garlic. He even asked for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
Great base recipe but I tend to add to it. Particularly veggies, sometimes bacon, cheese, chives...just use your imagination. Overall, a quick family meal that is pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
Sooo good! I made a few changes to the recipe. I added worstershire to the hamburger along with onions. I used cream of chicken instead of cream of mushroom since we're not big mushroom fans. I used shredded mexican blend cheese instead of american, I added frozen peas into the middle of the pie, and lastly I did half potato and half cauliflower for the topping. This dish was so good I'll be making it again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
This was good for such a quick meal. I was looking for something hubby could make for dinner when I am working. I put the cheese on top in error, but it didn't matter. It was a little on the bland side though. The only comment they made was it needed more beef. Not my favorite recipe for SP, but easy and something my guys can fix by themselves. Thanks, this was a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States