Shepherd's Pie Daddy's Way Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
as a basic recipe this is so easy and quick, but when I went to make it I discovered I had no ground beef in the freezer, I did however have a half of a roasted turkey breast from the day before in the fridge, so I diced it, and to the soup added a quarter teaspoon of poultry seasoning, topped it with mild cheddar as this is all I had in the fridge too, came out wonderful, with the leftover biscuits and cole slaw we had a quick, easy, delicious meal, hubby loved it, next time I will try it your way, but I do have to say, my quicky turkey pie came out pretty darn good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
This was ok, I was using up left over mashed potatoes. I added a bag of frozen peas and carrots, should have heated them up half way before adding them, they were still chewy. Looking forward to heating up leftovers -- hoping that will heat everything evenly making it the right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
This was delicious....but not the healthiest looking thing. Ratio of potato to meat was a little high too. Tasted fantastic though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
This recipe is so easy and simple, that my simple additions, made me feel like a gormet chef (I'm usually not a "smart" enough cook to just "know" what to add)! While I did make several additions, I think that this recipe would still be a 5 star on it's own.....reason being, I think it is the soup that makes it!! It gives it tremendous flavor and moisture. The things I added....a sprinke of garlic salt and an onion to the ground beef, a layer of peas and carrots, and I made the mashed potatoes with a touch of milk, garlic salt. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Awana Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zionsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
I love this recipe. Very simple and easy to make but tastes great. I substitute real potatoes for box potatoes when I'm running short on time and it comes out delicious. I also use cream of celery instead of cream of mushroom. Then in the meat mixture I also add about half a can of corn and green beans. That's why I really love this recipe, there are so many options to use when you make it. Try it and you won't be sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New Carlisle, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I made this exactly as written, perhaps the first time I've ever tried to make a shepherd's pie. I used medium-sized "Russet Burbank" potatoes, and I think this may also be the first time I'd ever mashed potatoes (using a fork, which wasn't too tedious). I cooked the potatoes for 10 minutes, and the whole dish for 25, at which point the top was not even close to "golden brown". I ate this over 4 nights for dinner, and I thought it was pretty tasty for a fairly simple dish. It is kind of light on the spices (you only get what's in the soup), but I suppose this dish isn't supposed to be all that spicy anyway. I think that the reheated leftovers might have been even a little better than the fresh serving. This was a fairly nice dish to have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
This was really good. Iadded a bag of frozen peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I used instant mashed potatoes and one can of golden mushroom soup and a 1/2 packet of dry onion soup. I also added a package of frozen peas and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
I only gave this 3 stars because I only used it as a "starter"! I think made as is would be rather bland...I seasoned my meat with garlic powder, onion powder and Tony's cajun seasoning. I also cooked some bacon and added a can of green beans and corn to my meat. I only had regular cream of mushroom soup but it worked fine. I also added milk, butter, salt, garlic powder and onion powder to my potatos. My husband, 6 yr old daughter and I all loved the way it turned out! Oddly, the only one who didnt like it was my 1yr old daughter who usually eats ANYTHING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Very simple but tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POPPYGIRLLL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Terrace, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States