Shepherd's Pie Daddy's Way Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Good recipe. Made it just as recipe said and my family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee
Home Town: Columbiana, Alabama, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
This was a GREAT quick recipe...I added about a TBL of ketchup to the meat and soup mix...thanks for submitting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Gandee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
as a basic recipe this is so easy and quick, but when I went to make it I discovered I had no ground beef in the freezer, I did however have a half of a roasted turkey breast from the day before in the fridge, so I diced it, and to the soup added a quarter teaspoon of poultry seasoning, topped it with mild cheddar as this is all I had in the fridge too, came out wonderful, with the leftover biscuits and cole slaw we had a quick, easy, delicious meal, hubby loved it, next time I will try it your way, but I do have to say, my quicky turkey pie came out pretty darn good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
This was ok, I was using up left over mashed potatoes. I added a bag of frozen peas and carrots, should have heated them up half way before adding them, they were still chewy. Looking forward to heating up leftovers -- hoping that will heat everything evenly making it the right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty Rupp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
This was delicious....but not the healthiest looking thing. Ratio of potato to meat was a little high too. Tasted fantastic though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
This recipe is so easy and simple, that my simple additions, made me feel like a gormet chef (I'm usually not a "smart" enough cook to just "know" what to add)! While I did make several additions, I think that this recipe would still be a 5 star on it's own.....reason being, I think it is the soup that makes it!! It gives it tremendous flavor and moisture. The things I added....a sprinke of garlic salt and an onion to the ground beef, a layer of peas and carrots, and I made the mashed potatoes with a touch of milk, garlic salt. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Awana Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zionsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
I love this recipe. Very simple and easy to make but tastes great. I substitute real potatoes for box potatoes when I'm running short on time and it comes out delicious. I also use cream of celery instead of cream of mushroom. Then in the meat mixture I also add about half a can of corn and green beans. That's why I really love this recipe, there are so many options to use when you make it. Try it and you won't be sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New Carlisle, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I made this exactly as written, perhaps the first time I've ever tried to make a shepherd's pie. I used medium-sized "Russet Burbank" potatoes, and I think this may also be the first time I'd ever mashed potatoes (using a fork, which wasn't too tedious). I cooked the potatoes for 10 minutes, and the whole dish for 25, at which point the top was not even close to "golden brown". I ate this over 4 nights for dinner, and I thought it was pretty tasty for a fairly simple dish. It is kind of light on the spices (you only get what's in the soup), but I suppose this dish isn't supposed to be all that spicy anyway. I think that the reheated leftovers might have been even a little better than the fresh serving. This was a fairly nice dish to have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
This was really good. Iadded a bag of frozen peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I used instant mashed potatoes and one can of golden mushroom soup and a 1/2 packet of dry onion soup. I also added a package of frozen peas and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States