Shepherd's Pie Daddy's Way Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
If you have some imagination, this turns out very good. I had to add a vegetable, and it happened to be corn. Also, I had onions with the meat. Used shredded cheddar instead of american slices, but that's to be expected. Everyone loved it and it was all eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
Good basic recipe that got tweaked just a bit. Didn't have any golden cream of mushroom, so we used regular. Added onions after browning the meat. Layered a can of green beans on top of meat, then potatoes, then shredded cheddar (instead of American). Sprinkled chives across the top. Tasted great and was easy to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by capabayan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
Sooo good! I made a few changes to the recipe. I added worstershire to the hamburger along with onions. I used cream of chicken instead of cream of mushroom since we're not big mushroom fans. I used shredded mexican blend cheese instead of american, I added frozen peas into the middle of the pie, and lastly I did half potato and half cauliflower for the topping. This dish was so good I'll be making it again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
I'm giving it a 3-star rating, because I think this recipe is a very basic recipe for shepherds pie, I think most people would make adjustment for flavour. It is good recipe because it's simple and doesn't require tons of ingredients for the times you just can't be bothered to do elaborate cooking. I didn't have mushroom soup or mushrooms on hand, so I guessed on making a gravy for the beef. For the gravy flavour About midway through browning the meat I added 2 chopped onions, and let it continue to cook, stirring every so often. Then after a short time, I then added more flavourings... sprinkled about 3 tsp beef bouillon powder, 1 tsp garlic powder, 1/2 tsp black pepper, 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper, and 1 tsp salt and stirred it around to make sure it mixed througly. To make the gravy I added a sprinkling of 2 tbsp of flour, mixed it around so that the flour coated much of the meat, and then added about 3/4 cup of milk and about 1 tbps soya sauce. I didn't need to add chopped onions but I like the texture and flavour of cooked onions with meat. You could use onion powder instead. For the mashed potatoes, I use some milk butter and salt. I topped the potatoes with shredded cheddar, since that's what I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
Awesome! I left off the cheese and added sauteed onions, frozen corn, peas and carrots. Use instant mashed potatoes. Went over big at my St. Pat's dinner. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
This recipe was a success...both my husband and I enjoyed it. I used cheddar cheese instead of American and added some sauteed mushrooms to the meat. Next time, my husband asked me to add more vegetables, so I think I'll try some carrots and peas. Also, I put too much mashed potatoes on top and it bubbled over, making a mess out of my oven, but I'm pretty sure that was my own fault for using 5 rather large potatoes. Next time I'll make sure to put a cookie sheet under it, though! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cardamum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Really good. The combination of the meat, soup and cheese melted together and made a cheesy, creamy blend that tasted excellent!!! The second time I made this, I added frozen corn on top of the meat mixture before the american cheese and added shredded co-jack cheese on top of the potatoes. My husband whom normally doesn't Shepherd's Pie thought this was really good and said he would like it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Makenna's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Photo by jsnowder
Reviewed: May 13, 2008
My mother taught me this recipe... I love it.... you can tweek it how ever you are feeling...meet...cheese... potatoes cant go wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsnowder

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
perfect, perfect for my picky husband!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
this was a really good and quick recipe,most of my children loved it my daughter ate two helpings and its hard to get her to eat anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holly Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States