Shepherd's Pie Daddy's Way Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
this was a really good and quick recipe,most of my children loved it my daughter ate two helpings and its hard to get her to eat anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holly Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
Great tasting recipe, and really quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
My family loved this recipe. I changed it a little bit by adding shredded cheese to the mashed potatoes and adding in a can of mixed vegetables with the hamburger. I will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
This recipe was a success...both my husband and I enjoyed it. I used cheddar cheese instead of American and added some sauteed mushrooms to the meat. Next time, my husband asked me to add more vegetables, so I think I'll try some carrots and peas. Also, I put too much mashed potatoes on top and it bubbled over, making a mess out of my oven, but I'm pretty sure that was my own fault for using 5 rather large potatoes. Next time I'll make sure to put a cookie sheet under it, though! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cardamum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
I'm giving it a 3-star rating, because I think this recipe is a very basic recipe for shepherds pie, I think most people would make adjustment for flavour. It is good recipe because it's simple and doesn't require tons of ingredients for the times you just can't be bothered to do elaborate cooking. I didn't have mushroom soup or mushrooms on hand, so I guessed on making a gravy for the beef. For the gravy flavour About midway through browning the meat I added 2 chopped onions, and let it continue to cook, stirring every so often. Then after a short time, I then added more flavourings... sprinkled about 3 tsp beef bouillon powder, 1 tsp garlic powder, 1/2 tsp black pepper, 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper, and 1 tsp salt and stirred it around to make sure it mixed througly. To make the gravy I added a sprinkling of 2 tbsp of flour, mixed it around so that the flour coated much of the meat, and then added about 3/4 cup of milk and about 1 tbps soya sauce. I didn't need to add chopped onions but I like the texture and flavour of cooked onions with meat. You could use onion powder instead. For the mashed potatoes, I use some milk butter and salt. I topped the potatoes with shredded cheddar, since that's what I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
I tried this recipe because my husband doesn't like vegetables so this was great for us. I used cheddar cheese and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
This was a really easy recipe to follow probably because of the amount of ingredients! Even I, who hasn't cooked for about the last 3-4 months, changed the recipe some to add more veggies into my family's diet! I also added a can of cream of celery soup with the mushroom soup as well as corn and beans (only veggie they will eat!). I also only had cheddar cheese on hand, so I topped the mashed potatoes (instant here, never really made the "homemade" ones) with that. In all, a simple recipe that can be adjusted to whatever your tastes or what you have on hand! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Gurley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lodgepole, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
Great recipe! This was EASY to prepare and tasted wonderful. I substituted potato flakes for the potatoes (which made this faster to prepare), and mixed in peas and carrots. My 2 yr old loved it and so did mommy and daddy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TJ Lincoln
Living In: Findlay, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
I had never made Shepherd's Pie myself, this was easy and delicious. I added a little cumin, oregano and red & green pepper. I will make this very often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bogota, Distrito Capital De Bogota, Colombia
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
Good, but a bit salty. I may try again with some veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States