Shepherd's Pie Daddy's Way Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Followed the recipe exactly and it tasted very good, but the meat "crust" didn't stay together as it does on other shepherd's pie recipes I've used. I also like a layer of vegetables between the meat and potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coplay, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Slatington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
I tweaked this a little, like many others, but this is easily my favorite recipe for shepherd's pie. I had been looking for a good recipe for a couple of years. My husband is Irish, but I don't love the way his family makes it. I tried several methods, including making the gravy from scratch. This recipe, with the golden mushroom soup, has the best flavor and is SOOO much easier! I did add frozen peas and corn to the beef mixture, used cheddar cheese instead of American, and made mashed potatoes my way with butter and milk. One thing I did learn from the Irish--once the potatoes are spread on top of the beef mixture in the baking dish, I score the top in a criss-cross pattern with a fork. It makes it look nice and makes it easier to tell when the potatoes are browned just right in the oven. This will be my go-to recipe for shepherd's pie from now on:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jnole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA
Living In: East Islip, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Like most I modified the recipe and should I have followed it to a T it would have been very plain in my opinion. I added onions, salt, pepper and italian seasoning to the meat and garlic salt, butter, milk and a bit of sour cream to the potatoes and it turned out quite tasty. I do like the cream of mushroom soup added in the meat. Like most, i did not have cream of golden mushroom so I used the standard cream of mushroom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I wasn't expecting much from this recipe but my family and I absolutely loved it. This was the only shepherd's pie recipe I looked at that included cheese and I almost didn't include it because of that but it definitely made the dish. I didn't have slices so instead I grated about half a cup of cheddar. Next time I think it'll be closer to a cup. I also added veggies like most reviewers, just some onions and carrots cooked with the beef and then some corn. I cooked it in a casserole dish instead of a pan to avoid any spills. This was more trouble than I usually like to go to for dinner but it was worth it. I'll definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
This was an easy shepherd's pie to make. The only thing I added was an onion (diced) and a clove of garlic (minced). When I added the mushroom soup, I also added some corn. It was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Super easy! I added a cup of garden peas and a dash of worcesterchire sauce. I used shredded cheese instead of sliced, and regular cream of mushroom, not golden. Looks pretty on the plate! I think it would go well with a pint of Guiness...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoBears!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
This is good, I added more vegies because it seemebed pretty blan. Overall good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Machelle Flowers
Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
This is great if you need something easy. And it's very openly advertised as a no-nonsense kind of recipe for people who don't care about impressing a gourmet crowd. This saved me when I didn't know what to make. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
It was really good, my picky 9 year old liked it. I used garlic instant mashed potatoes. Good quck and easy meal for a week night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Millin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
This is a "guys favorite"!! To make it easy on me - I have even used premade refrigerated Mashed to spread on top and they just love it! Such an easy comfort food that is great for work lunches to easily reheat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Camp.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stoneham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chelmsford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States