Shepherd's Pie Daddy's Way Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cookie734
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Easy, delicious recipe. My family liked it because there were no vegetables in it (I was able to make a favorite vegetable on the side), and we had all of the ingredients on hand. We all fought over the leftovers. (This was great the first day, but even better the next day!) To add a twist, I used Johnsonville Chicken Sausage Three Cheese Italian Style (decased and minced), instead of the ground beef. This added zip and lots of extra flavor. This will be a favorite in our house no matter which way I make it (original recipe or with a twist).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie734
Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I did this with ground lamb. I added canned stewed tomatoes, corn, and peas. I also added a browning sauce, and used shredded mixed cheese instead of sliced. I made mashed potatoes as i normally would and topped it with them and baked as instructed, came out really well. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kittycat2007

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lapeer, Michigan, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
My husband, who said he hates shepherd's pie, had two helpings!!! Boy was it yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Very simple to put together. I added chopped onion to brown with meat. I also used shredded cheddar and added about 2 cups mixed frozen veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irayd8 no more!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Evergreen Park, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Amazing recipe! I add cream corn and some pieces of bacon and it becomes delicious! Everybody here loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexandra

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Love this variation as I don't care for Shepherd's Pie. But this was wonderful! Used shredded cheese instead of slices and added onion and garlic in the beef. Added a can of corn too. Green beans were good in it also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Mucho delicioso! I had to make a few changes to this recipe so that it could accommodate my dietary needs since I track my calories but it still turned out FABULOUSLY at only 371 cals per serving! Here's what I used: 1lb. 96/4 lean ground beef 4 small russet potatoes (about 20 oz total) 2 slices 2% Kraft singles (50 cals each) cut into 4 triangles 1/2 can cream mushroom soup 1/2 jar of Heinz savory beef gravy 1/4 cup Worcestershire sauce 1/2 cup of chopped carrots 2 tsp minced garlic 1 tsp onion powder salt/pepper to taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HannahB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
Good baseline. I did use this recipe to jump start my imagination. Ground the beef with onion. Added the golden mushroom soup to the beef. Topped casserole with potatoes as directed, but topped potatoes with a garnish of fried onions and grated cheddar cheese. Baked until top was crispy. Very good basic recipe if you have an imagination to "tweek" it to your own families tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Followed the recipe exactly and it tasted very good, but the meat "crust" didn't stay together as it does on other shepherd's pie recipes I've used. I also like a layer of vegetables between the meat and potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coplay, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Slatington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
I tweaked this a little, like many others, but this is easily my favorite recipe for shepherd's pie. I had been looking for a good recipe for a couple of years. My husband is Irish, but I don't love the way his family makes it. I tried several methods, including making the gravy from scratch. This recipe, with the golden mushroom soup, has the best flavor and is SOOO much easier! I did add frozen peas and corn to the beef mixture, used cheddar cheese instead of American, and made mashed potatoes my way with butter and milk. One thing I did learn from the Irish--once the potatoes are spread on top of the beef mixture in the baking dish, I score the top in a criss-cross pattern with a fork. It makes it look nice and makes it easier to tell when the potatoes are browned just right in the oven. This will be my go-to recipe for shepherd's pie from now on:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jnole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA
Living In: East Islip, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States