Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
This is an excellent base recipe. When browning the meat, season it with salt, pepper, and garlic; add 2-3 tsp. of Worcestershire sauce and an extra cup of peas and carrots. Also, make homemade mashed potatoes and sprinkle on a little cheese before you put it in the oven. It is delicious and got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
This was so yummy!!! I doubled up on the frozen veggies and added a can of cream of chicken. My family loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Great recipe! I didn't have cream of mushroom soup on hand but I found that french onion soup (thickened with flour into a gravy) works magnificent!!! Kids really enjoyed this dish. Instead of making homemade or instant potatoes, we used a family favorite.. Bob Evans original mashed potatoes! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
This was quick and easy to make and really good. I used frozen mixed veggies (peas, carrots, corn & green beans), added some garlic and italian seasoning to the meat as it cooked, and melted some cheese on top at the end. It could have used more salt. It was the perfect amount for four people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kerri_Whitepaw
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Over all not a bad recipe. It was a little bland for me. I though it could have used garlic. I ended up making my own mash potatoes instead of using insta or flakes. It's very filling. Made for two people and had well over half left over. Over all not expensive either. Combined the shopping trip with another recipe and spend less then $30. Makes me miss my time in London.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri_Whitepaw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
I added worcheshire sauce, steak seasoning, garlic salt, pepper and kosher salt and still, this was rather bland. I used homemade mashed potatoes and also added a little shredded cheddar cheese to the top. If I make this again, I'll add sauteed celery, and try to add seasoning to the mashed potatoes for flavor. However, it was fast and my 10 year old loved it. Good comfort food, just needs more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenner, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
This was awesome!my 2 yr old granddaughter had 2 helpings of it...So it must be good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
I added corn to the peas and carrots, as well as some garlic powder and Worcestershire sauce. Turned out wonderfully, though the potatoes only browned on the edges for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
This was very yummy and everybody wanted seconds. I made it exactly as the recipe stated, but will change a couple of things next time. Will add more veggies, since there was a lot of meat, and will at least double the potato topping. It was a bit skimpy. We really did enjoy this meal and will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by contrachapado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Great recipe. Only thing I change is I use real mashed potatoes rather than instant. I find they spread a bit easier. I also add some shredded cheddar cheese to the top before putting in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Praline Pumpkin Mousse Cornucopias

Puff pastry makes a tasty "shell" to hold creamy pumpkin mousse. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States