Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This was my first time making Shepherds pie. I followed the directions except we used ground turkey. I used frozen peas and corn and a can of carrots which I chopped up. Added everything to the casserole dish, and topped with shredded cheddar. Made the taters as directed on the box and topped the mixture. It came out incredible! Will be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imaflipn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Easy! I can definitely see this becoming a regular in our household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
not too shabby. sons girlfriend who is the pickiest of all eaters, had 2 or 3 helpings. so, with that, gotta give this atleast 4 starts. would make again, easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Battle Ground, Washington, USA
Living In: La Center, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Hunting season just ended around here, so I made this out of elk burger. Yum! The only tweaks made was the addition of some rosemary and sage to the meat, and also made real mashed potatoes as opposed to using flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darklilly101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buckley, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I added a half a jar of brown gravy , some extra ketchup and extra veggies. awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tester36

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Daphne, Alabama, USA
Living In: Huxford, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
This was amazing. I've been making Shepards Pie for years, and I can't believe what I was missing out on!! It was creamy and absolutely delicious. The boys loved it, and it made a lot! I used corn instead of peas and carrots, which our family prefers. Yummy! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanwrap

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This recipe is so, so easy to make. The beef filling is very, very good. One major problem, and the reason I am only giving it 4 stars. I followed the instructions to the T, and the potatoes turned out inexplicably stiff, impossible to spread, and they only covered around 1/4 of the pie. I had to make an additional batch of mashed potatoes. For this second -- much larger --batch, I just winged it, did not follow the part of the recipe for the potatoes. I made the consistency thick enough as to be hearty, but thin enough to spread. The resulting casserole was a great success. My boyfriend and his father loved it. My boyfriend said the beef filling was "delicious. Perfecto." And his father, who is an extremely light eater, who NEVER finishes his dinner, actually had two servings! I was very happy about that. Oh! None of us like carrots and peas much, so I used a cup of frozen corn instead. With these modifications, I consider this my go-to recipe for Shepherd's Pie. P.S. My boyfriend's favorite meal, that his dear mother used to make before she passed away over a decade ago, was Shepherd's Pie. He said that this Shepherd's Pie is very close to what his mom used to make. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
This is an excellent base recipe. When browning the meat, season it with salt, pepper, and garlic; add 2-3 tsp. of Worcestershire sauce and an extra cup of peas and carrots. Also, make homemade mashed potatoes and sprinkle on a little cheese before you put it in the oven. It is delicious and got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
This was so yummy!!! I doubled up on the frozen veggies and added a can of cream of chicken. My family loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Great recipe! I didn't have cream of mushroom soup on hand but I found that french onion soup (thickened with flour into a gravy) works magnificent!!! Kids really enjoyed this dish. Instead of making homemade or instant potatoes, we used a family favorite.. Bob Evans original mashed potatoes! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Praline Pumpkin Mousse Cornucopias

Puff pastry makes a tasty "shell" to hold creamy pumpkin mousse. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States