Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This was great! My picky husband loved it. I had leftover mashed potatoes so this was the inspiration. I didn't have any meat so instead used veggie burgers mashed up. I didn't have creamed soup so instead used 1 can of evaporated milk mixed with a cube of chicken bouillon and a tablespoon of corn starch. I added frozen corn with the peas and carrots too and forgot to add the butter. It still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Great! I added some cheese and left over bacon bits to the top which dressed it up a bit and was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
So easy and delicious. I used some corn and green beans (don't like peas and carrots).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
This was awesome! I made this for my Italian husband who had never had shepherd's pie before and he loved it! The only thing I did different was I put it in a pie shell. Super delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JPsCooking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
My kids and husband love this dish. I found that we like it made with cream of chicken soup the best. I also top it with shredded cheddar cheese and the kids love when the cheese gets a little crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Great Recipe considering that I don't cook too often but I added in my own twists: no ketchup added Used own seasoning instead of black pepper to make it tastier I made a quick flour crust (flour, veg oil , milk) to place at the bottom of the pan, instead of frozen vegetables I added a can of vegetables, and I made the mashed potatoes from scratch w/milk, butter and a dash of garlic to add to the top. I topped the mashed potatoes with cheese. Really enjoyed this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
I used about 3/4 can of Heinz (sorry, Campbells!) Savory beef gravy instead of mushroom soup. Did not add peas or carrots. Used Green Beans instead, and real mashed potatoes. Layered green beans, hamburger/gravy mix, mashed potatoes, topped with cheese. My husband loved it! (Of course he mixes EVERYTHING up when he eats it, so this is kind of "pre-mixed"!) Not for company, but good comfort food and good forl eftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Fabulous. The cream of mushroom soup adds great flavor and a creaminess. I added some thyme and fresh ground pepper to it. I did not bake it in a pie crust. I just doubled the recipe and then put it in a casserole dish to bake. Absolutely delicious. The family was scraping the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
We loved this, and my teenage son came back for seconds. Ok, so what else is new? But he really liked it a lot. What I did differently: I added a cup of mushrooms to the beef and onion in the first step. I used a tablespoon of red wine vinegar instead of ketchup, added a dash of sea salt. I used a cup of frozen mixed vegetables and I completely forgot to add the milk. I had no instant mashed potatoes on hand, so I cooked in the same pan until bubbly and served it over really thick slices of whole wheat toast. It was a hit and I look forward to the leftovers for tomorrow's lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sings2high

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Very tasty! A true comfort food. I substituted a 16oz package of mixed frozen veggies for the frozen peas and carrots. Will make again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Countess Cookie

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 131-140 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Praline Pumpkin Mousse Cornucopias

Puff pastry makes a tasty "shell" to hold creamy pumpkin mousse. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States