Shell-Roni Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2015
took other suggestions and added red chili peppers, habanerno cheddar cheese and 3/4 cup milk. I cooked the pasta seperate and used quinoa macaroni. found it a great new comfort food
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
We liked this recipe. I think omitting the bacon, as one person did, is a big mistake because it gives the dish a lot of flavor. I cooked my bacon first until it started to get brown, then cooked the hamburger and onion in some of the drippings. I added the first half of the cheese after everything had cooked and the pasta was done, but I couldn't see turning on the oven just to melt the cheese on the top. I sprinkled the rest of the cheese over the finished dish in the pan, then put on the lid it to let the cheese melt. Tasty and filling! Ill make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
It was very good, however, it took quite some time for the pasta to soften up. I also used more milk, added mushroom and spices. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McKenzie Roark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
This recipe was really good. The only things I changed were: I added some garlic, pepper and chili flakes.I added the cheese all at once and mixed it in and didn't bake it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Instead of just tomatoes, use a can of rotel instead! AWESOME! been a favorite of this for a long time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I changed several things. I did not use bacon at all. I browned 2lb lean ground beef and onion with Southwest seasonings from Vita Mix, 1.5tbs. Drained the meat. I then added 14oz of crushed fire roasted tomatoes, 18oz skim milk and 1/2 cup sharp shredded cheddar. I let it boil and added 6oz shell pasta. It would have been much better to make the pasta separately and I will next time. Once pasta was soft, I put it into the dish and sprinkled with a cup of sharp cheese. I baked it for 10 min and it really was tasty. I hope you enjoy. My picky guys told me it was good, and they are harsh critics :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Delicious! Great for Fall nights :) Great way to feed kids and a group of guys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luciana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fuquay Varina, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
This was a very good last minute meal. I left out the bacon since I didn't have any and used colby jack cheese because that's the only cheese I had on hand. Hubby loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
This recipe turned out pretty good and my small children liked it. I did change a few things to make it more flavorful and a bit more healthy. I used about three pieces of bacon, cooked in the pan first then taken out so I could wipe out the pan and brown the beef, onion and about a 1/2 tablespoon of minced garlic. This cut down on some of the fat transfer to the beef. I then added everything to the large sauce pan and used the Healthy Requests Cream Of Mushroom soup and 2% milk. I also used a cheddar jack combo for the cheese because that's what I had on hand. At this point I added some kosher salt and fresh ground pepper. I used Barilla Plus elbow macaroni noodles, they are multigrain and have protein and omega 3's. They did take a long time to cook in the sauce pan, but I think that it probably made the noodles more flavorful than cooking them in water first. Overall, it was a success even with my picky 2 and 4 year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
Pretty tasty I thought. I added lots of salt and pepper and Minced Garlic. Instead of baking I just put the cheese on top at the end and then used a lid to cover , let it sit for 10 minutes and perfectly melted cheese. Savfed me a dish to wash and I didn;t have to have the oven on. Good with a Salad on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Hamburger Stroganoff

A meaty, creamy, pasta dish with mushrooms.

Easy Chicken Tetrazzini

See how to make an easy baked chicken tetrazzini.

Souper Skillet Pasta

See how to make this quick and easy dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States