Sheila's Perfect Sangria Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
This sangria came out great! It is a little on the strong side. So,if you are used to the watered down pitchers you usually get at restaurants, you might want to add a little more lemon-lime soda. :)I drank it the way the recipe called for it and highly enjoyed it! I forgot to get the pineapple chunks, so I added a sliced apple and a small can of pineapple juice that I had in the house instead. Make sure that you have a large enough container to fit all of it in also. I used a 2 gallon Igloo spout container for mine. It didn't really come out of the spout well because of the fruit, but it held the contents perfectly and I used a ladle to serve it. Also, make sure your glasses are filled with ice before you pour in the sangria. It took a long time to chill in the refrigerator and if you don't have overnight to do this, the ice worked really well. I will definitely be using this recipe again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sayville, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
i signed up just to rate this! so good. i did it sort of different though. i used mango malibu (on hand) and grand marnier (also on hand). added strawberries and didn't marinate *gasp*. i found all the pineapples and kiwi sunk to the bottom though :( but so so tasty. Also i didn't use as much sugar. all gone! me and 1 girlfriend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
5 stars from the bacholorette party! Everyone loved it! I added a little more rum and marinated the fruit separate; trust me no one was complaning!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
A GREAT Red Sangria!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HPERRONE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
I know that people get annoyed when people rate a recipe they changed, but I only changed a few things out of necessity. I only had non-alcoholic triple-sec, which I substituted for the orange liquor, I didn't want to spring for the coconut rum, so I just used Bacardi Gold in place of that (which meant more regular rum) and the only fruit I used was apples, oranges, limes and lemons. I am on a budget people! It still was super awesome! My husband thought it was just like the sangria at our favorite Spanish tapas resturant where we had our wedding reception. I have tried to make sangria before, but this was the first time it turned out so great. Watch out for the hangover if you drink too much though! It's a killer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Howard

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Sipping as I review. My thoughts: Won't use a pear next time. Totally annoying little chunks in the Sangria and it takes away from the classy look of the rest of the fruit. Also feel as though the kiwi and strawberries are unnecessary. Just get mushy. Next time I will cut the naval orange slices in half so they fit in the glass! I also don't feel sugar is necessary. It's really sweet already, especially with the orange juice and pink lemonade. Lastly, instead of adding the soda directly to the Sangria right before serving, I put ice in the glass, then fruit, then Sangria, and added a splash of soda on top. Gives it a really nice fizz when you sip it. If you add it directly, it just disappears within the Sangria. Thanks, Sheila. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOOTIEBOY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I made this for my 30th b-day party and it was a huge hit. Be prepared to be chopping for awhile, though. One change I would do is to cut some of the citrus fruit and liquids out and add more red wine b/c it tasted a bit too citrusy. I also didn't use the coconut rum b/c some of my friends do not like coconut. But, it might be a good thing to keep in for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoJo
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I used fresh pinapple instead of canned, Mango rum & Pino Noir..oh so yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by turttletoy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
I have made this on a few occassions, and it is by far the best sangria i have ever had! a definite party centerpiece for any occassion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twinzmomie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
A friend passed on this recipe to me last Memorial Day for a party, and it was such a hit, even though I quadrupled the recipe, we ran out in about 90 minutes! Since then I have made the Sangria another 8 times (baby shower, bbq, block party, etc) and it is always a HUGE hit. Like the other post, it is a lot of chopping and prep, but well worth it. My only suggestion is that if you make a larger batch, it calls for more fruit, which as the liquid gets low, tends to clog the spigot, so have a ladle on hand, or just eyeball the fruit as you are cutting it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sangria Cocktail

A professional bartender makes this classic Spanish wine and fruit punch.

Sangria! Sangria!

See how to make homemade sangria, the perfect summer sipper.

Classic Spanish Sangria

Watch how to make this authentic version of the popular wine drink.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States