Sheila's Perfect Sangria Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
This sangria came out great! It is a little on the strong side. So,if you are used to the watered down pitchers you usually get at restaurants, you might want to add a little more lemon-lime soda. :)I drank it the way the recipe called for it and highly enjoyed it! I forgot to get the pineapple chunks, so I added a sliced apple and a small can of pineapple juice that I had in the house instead. Make sure that you have a large enough container to fit all of it in also. I used a 2 gallon Igloo spout container for mine. It didn't really come out of the spout well because of the fruit, but it held the contents perfectly and I used a ladle to serve it. Also, make sure your glasses are filled with ice before you pour in the sangria. It took a long time to chill in the refrigerator and if you don't have overnight to do this, the ice worked really well. I will definitely be using this recipe again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sayville, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
A GREAT Red Sangria!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HPERRONE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
5 stars from the bacholorette party! Everyone loved it! I added a little more rum and marinated the fruit separate; trust me no one was complaning!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
i signed up just to rate this! so good. i did it sort of different though. i used mango malibu (on hand) and grand marnier (also on hand). added strawberries and didn't marinate *gasp*. i found all the pineapples and kiwi sunk to the bottom though :( but so so tasty. Also i didn't use as much sugar. all gone! me and 1 girlfriend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I used fresh pinapple instead of canned, Mango rum & Pino Noir..oh so yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by turttletoy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I made this for my 30th b-day party and it was a huge hit. Be prepared to be chopping for awhile, though. One change I would do is to cut some of the citrus fruit and liquids out and add more red wine b/c it tasted a bit too citrusy. I also didn't use the coconut rum b/c some of my friends do not like coconut. But, it might be a good thing to keep in for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoJo
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
This was a good recipe. Just don't forget the brandy. About 1/4 to 1/2 cup. It really makes the sangria
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Spoerndle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
A friend passed on this recipe to me last Memorial Day for a party, and it was such a hit, even though I quadrupled the recipe, we ran out in about 90 minutes! Since then I have made the Sangria another 8 times (baby shower, bbq, block party, etc) and it is always a HUGE hit. Like the other post, it is a lot of chopping and prep, but well worth it. My only suggestion is that if you make a larger batch, it calls for more fruit, which as the liquid gets low, tends to clog the spigot, so have a ladle on hand, or just eyeball the fruit as you are cutting it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
I made this for my sisters bridal shower. It got rave reviews! For every occasion my friends request that I make sangria! It was incredible I did add Lime flavored mineral water. It made it even better ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I've tried many different Sangria recipes and this one was by far the best. You can always change the fruits but it is a great starting point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Ramon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sangria Cocktail

A professional bartender makes this classic Spanish wine and fruit punch.

Sangria! Sangria!

See how to make homemade sangria, the perfect summer sipper.

Classic Spanish Sangria

Watch how to make this authentic version of the popular wine drink.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States