Sheila's Perfect Sangria Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 8, 2011
I have made this recipe over 10 times during the years. It is everyones favorite sangria. People who do not like sangria, even love it. Try it once & you will be hooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Russell Barton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
I made this recipe for a surprise bday party and only had about 2 hours for the fruit to refrigerate, but by about 4 hours into the party, it tasted even better. So I would recommend at least 6 hours for the fruit to soak. I also didn't add the coconut flavored rum, but didn't miss it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by durcs25
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
We made this for our wedding and everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Sipping as I review. My thoughts: Won't use a pear next time. Totally annoying little chunks in the Sangria and it takes away from the classy look of the rest of the fruit. Also feel as though the kiwi and strawberries are unnecessary. Just get mushy. Next time I will cut the naval orange slices in half so they fit in the glass! I also don't feel sugar is necessary. It's really sweet already, especially with the orange juice and pink lemonade. Lastly, instead of adding the soda directly to the Sangria right before serving, I put ice in the glass, then fruit, then Sangria, and added a splash of soda on top. Gives it a really nice fizz when you sip it. If you add it directly, it just disappears within the Sangria. Thanks, Sheila. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOOTIEBOY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
BOMB! and pricey! Made this for a bachelorette beach party and it got rave reviews. Cointreau is $30 a bottle - I bought a 1/2 pint of Grand Marnier for $11 and used half of it - may try orange liquore next time. Also this is a TON of fruit - use less fruit and I don't think you'd be disappointed. I cut the sugar in half and added some rum at the end - soda just makes it a little carbinated. YUMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This was a big 4th of July hit at my house. I followed the recipe to a tee, and EVERYONE loved it. The recipe was easy to follow. Only suggestion I would is to use a very large bowl when mixing the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
way too sweet! if i was to make this again i would not add the lemonade concentrate. I think that's where it went wrong. I would possibly not add the sugar as well, the fruit already adds so much sweetness to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
Excellent!!! We are wine-loving people, & I wanted something different for my parents 50th Anniversary party!!! This was a huge hit!!!! Everyone raved about it!!! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
I know that people get annoyed when people rate a recipe they changed, but I only changed a few things out of necessity. I only had non-alcoholic triple-sec, which I substituted for the orange liquor, I didn't want to spring for the coconut rum, so I just used Bacardi Gold in place of that (which meant more regular rum) and the only fruit I used was apples, oranges, limes and lemons. I am on a budget people! It still was super awesome! My husband thought it was just like the sangria at our favorite Spanish tapas resturant where we had our wedding reception. I have tried to make sangria before, but this was the first time it turned out so great. Watch out for the hangover if you drink too much though! It's a killer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Howard

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
I love this recipe!!! I made this for a bbq and it was a hit! Everyone wanted to know where I got the recipe. I added a cup more of the lemon lime soda so the light drinkers could also enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sangria Cocktail

A professional bartender makes this classic Spanish wine and fruit punch.

Sangria! Sangria!

See how to make homemade sangria, the perfect summer sipper.

Classic Spanish Sangria

Watch how to make this authentic version of the popular wine drink.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States