Sheboygan Grilled Brats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Grilled Brats and then marinated in Beer and butter (onions and garlic, if you so choose) are truly a little taste of paradise. I came from a small village just 2 miles outside of Sheboygan, WI. Like so many others in this area we know that only Johnsonville brats appeal to those with German background. We grill the brats carefully so they do not burst, then immerse them in the hot beer and butter. By the way, hamburgers do well in this marinade, too. Thanks PBFITZ for the reminder of home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
I tried this method because the cooking of the brats was reversed from my normal method thinking this method is faster. End results were not as flavorful as my regular method. I fully cook the brats in the beer/onion/garlic/butter mixture then brown up on the grill for presentation, just a lot more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
Loved the flavor...will make again...and again and again. Used Guiness and that did it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
Excellent way to do brats. Had to pan grill the brats since it started to rain! I used Vidalla onions, but next time I'll try a stronger onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAULDI

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Summit Point, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
These were decent, but not as awesome as I expected, maybe because of my beer choice? I used a high quality, German dark beer, lager style. The mixture was really bitter. I had hoped springing for a more expensive beer would pay off, but it didn't. I had to salt the mixture quite a bit to make it edible. The brats shrunk a lot. And I'm not sure the purpose of leaving the brats on the grill for so long. There are done in at least half the time called for in the recipe. As a non brat aficionado, I've enjoyed reading the reviews from the "brat snobs."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
Hubby grilled these for lunch today and they were pretty tasty! I used Guinness in the sauce and the flavor went very well with the brats. We'll be having these again! Served on hotdog buns with mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
Really, really good! The beer/onions mixture smelled sooooo good simmering. These were really terrific the next day ladeled (with the sauce) over chunky cooked yams!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
Wouldn't change a thing. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by free_by_grace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Webb City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
tried it with Guiness - flavor was a little bitter. But the family definitely liked them. Next time I will try a diffferent beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
These were good. I've done brats lots of ways, and they all come out good. Personally, if you can't get them right, you must be some kind of dope.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Charleston, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fowler, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Santa Maria Grilled Tri-Tip Beef

See how to make classic California-style barbecued tri-tip.

Curly-Q Grilled Sausages

These kickin’ spiral-cut grilled Italian sausages aren’t just cool-looking.

Scott's Amazing Whiskey Grilled Baby Back Ribs

Discover the secret to impossibly tender, fall-off-the-bone BBQ ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States