Shearers' Mince and Potato Hot Pot Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2002
This one is a keeper! Very yummy indeed. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECMEISTER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2002
Simple, filling hearty honest dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2002
I found this recipe very bland. It also was greasy as the recipe did not call for draining the ground beef/onion mixture. It also took longer to cook the potatoes to doneness than the recipe claimed. I won't fix this again.We ended up making burgers on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2002
This recipe was so delicious that my whole family (including small children) loved it! I did add peas to the meat mixture, and found that it worked quite well with the recipe. This was so well loved that I plan to add it to my regular rotation. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
This is good and filling, as claimed. It's basically "shepherd's pie meets scalloped potatoes". Good, plain comfort food, but if you are looking for something with more zing, you may want to add a bit of spice or chili sauce to the meat when you cook it. Make sure to cut the potatoes really thin, too, or else you'll be cooking it for a long(er) time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Rossburn, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2003
This is DELICIOUS. It takes a while to prepare, but it is well worth the wait. The only thing that I would strongly suggest is to drain the ground beef mixture before pouring it into the dish, otherwise you are left with too much grease and the sauce doesn't set as nicely. I made the dish for my fiancee and I, and he loved it too--I found out that it is the same thing as a Serbian dish called Musaka. It's filling, tasty, and a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
love this one i added peas will make again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2004
This recipe was pretty boring in taste, especially considering how long it takes to make and the preparation involved. I thought I sliced the potatos thin enough, but I guess not since it took an hour in the oven and they were still not finished. I ended up throwing out the who meal. I am not sure if I will make this again. I don't know how to slice the potatos any thinnner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2004
After reading the reviews I added garlic salt and garlic pepper to the meat after draining the meat. I didn't slice the potatoes very thin; I just precooked them a little before assembling all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2004
My husband and I really like this meal and are looking forward to having it regularly. Next time I am going to keep the potato slices in hot water or cook them because a few of the slices remained cold. Adding peas (as some other reviewers have said) does sound interesting, but not essential because we think this meal does stand well on it's own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States