Shearers' Mince and Potato Hot Pot Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
i was unsure about the potatoes not being cooked and if they would get done, most of them did that were covered in the sauce. i rearranged the layers to end with the sauce and not potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amy833

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Just all right. We didn't find this to be all that great. It was edible, but I doubt I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Such a great recipe. My whole family including picky children will eat this and ask for seconds!! My only advice is that you need to make sure the potatoes are very thinly sliced to ensure it is cooked throughly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wetaskiwin, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I liked this recipe but boyfriend thought it was too greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
This recipe should say to drain the meat, but that is a common practice when added ground meat to anything. I didn't really understand the 1 tablespoon of tomato sauce so I just added some ketchup. I eyeballed the milk until I thought the cheese sauce had a good consistency-not too soupy. Try adding about 1/2 tablespoon of blue cheese chunks to the cheese sauce (adjust to taste). It perks up the flavor of the cheese sauce. We cooked this for about 45 minutes uncovered and it was fine. This will become our winter regular. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hull, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
This recipe is great if you are looking for a simple but filling dish. Instead of peeling and cutting potatoes I used a bag of frozen cubed potatoes. I am sure you could use hashbrowns too. It saved some time and cooked up quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
Delicioso! I drained the beef. I also used the "soy substitute" recipe from this site instead of Worcheshire Sauce. I tried 5 potatoes since I used 2lbs of beef but that was still too much. Suggest 4 potatoes. I double the sauce since I did have double the meat. Also cooked with foil on for 1 hr and uncovered for 20 more minutes. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Alto, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
good recipe,, but to add a little more flavour add a tea spoon of dried mixed herbs to the mince beef,, and if you want a hotter flavour a few diced chilles
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul (uk) cooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crawley, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2007
This is quite a filling casserole. I baked it a little longer and some of the potatoes were not quite cooked. Give it some extra time in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynardo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
Very good and hearty recipe. I solved the potato problem by using canned sliced new potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States