Shearers' Mince and Potato Hot Pot Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
We found it a bit bland, and it took way more than the specified time to cook. We sliced our potatoes very thinly using a mandoline slicer, and it still took nearly an hour and a half of baking for the potatoes to be mostly tender. Some were still crunchy after all that time. If I make it again, I'll add some seasonings to jazz it up a bit, and I'll partially cook my potatoes before baking, to reduce the baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bunkie, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joel Edwards
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Overall we liked it. However the potato was a bit undercooked, possibly because it was either too thick or the cooking time was too short. Next time I will cook it for an hour until it gets really golden. I added spring onions on top, used only half an onion, added 2 cut up pieces of bacon with the mince and didn't add any mushrooms. Looking forward to round 2!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel Edwards

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
i did change it becase Idont like worcestershire sauce. I cooked my beef with onion, jalapenio peppers jut to taste, tamatoes, and of course seasoned i with salt and pepper. I pre cooked my ptatoes and then thinly sliced them (that way they were nice ad soft). I dd put it in the oven just to toast the top and get the cheese bubbling. It turned out Great! try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KyleeOrdonez
Home Town: Snowflake, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
A fairly good casserole, but could use some tweaking. Even with 1/8" potato slices, took almost twice the cooking time to get the potatos done. Adding some dried herbs to the beef helped give more flavor. I also added some green beans and mixed veggies to the cheese sauce. If I were to make again, I would add more cheese to the sauce, as it's lacking a bit with only 1C and more beef. I would also cover and bake for about 45 min, then baked uncovered for about 15. Baking uncovered left the potatos on top burned on the edges and some turned gray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
A little bland, so next time would add a little something extra. Maybe a can of tomatoes simmered off and some other herbs, seasoning. Also needed to extend the cooking time by a mile for the potatoes to be cooked. Filling and easy, though. Will be keeping and amending a little. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Invercargill, Southland, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Doug
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Fabulous comfort dish suitable for the cooler months. Like others I would suggest either draining the meat after cooking or cooking for longer to get rid of excess moisture. This has a high fat content with the butter - also like others I suggest using half of the butter quantity. I plan to cook this again with these slight amendments but in summary - a fabulous, filling cooler weather dish, economical and quick to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug
Home Town: Wellington , Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shanna Sarr
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
We all loved this, but I did add extra seasoning - a layer of garlic salt on top of the beef mixture before placing potatoes on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shanna Sarr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Yum, my partner hunts, so this was a nice hearty meal for him to come home to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cherie gillgren

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Eeewwww! Way to greasy and bland!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LITHRAI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mansfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
My family loved this recipe. I pre boiled the potatoes and left out the tomato sauce. Buttered the bottom of non-stick pan, placed the potatoes in, then the beef mixture, Sauteed portabella mushrooms, pre-partially steamed brocolli, and covered in the sauce. Then I sprinkled with French Fried Onions to kick it up a bit and add some crunch after reading other reviews about it being bland. Baked for only about 15 minutes. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Little Compton, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Hasselback Potatoes

Swedish version of baked potatoes, this is the ultimate spud: tender and crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States