Shearers' Mince and Potato Hot Pot Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
My boyfriend and I love this recipe. We use a potato peeler to "peel" off thin slices. It's faster than trying to slice them with a knife, and we don't have a problem with them being too thick. We don't always put the tomato sauce in, and we usually use fresh mushrooms (if we have them), and we always drain the meat. We also add spices when cooking the meat--usually a little chilli powder and some garlic powder (or fresh minced garlic)--to kick it up a little bit. This is definitely our favorite recipe from this site so far though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
love this one i added peas will make again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
This was beautiful...my husband loved the shepards pie crossed with scolloped potato. I added, more vegies like carrots and peas and for the mushrooms, I added half a can of mushrooms in butter sauce, the butter sauce made the mince perfect! Definately a new family fav!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
Delicioso! I drained the beef. I also used the "soy substitute" recipe from this site instead of Worcheshire Sauce. I tried 5 potatoes since I used 2lbs of beef but that was still too much. Suggest 4 potatoes. I double the sauce since I did have double the meat. Also cooked with foil on for 1 hr and uncovered for 20 more minutes. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Alto, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
one of the best meals ever tasted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2002
This one is a keeper! Very yummy indeed. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECMEISTER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2007
This is quite a filling casserole. I baked it a little longer and some of the potatoes were not quite cooked. Give it some extra time in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynardo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2002
Simple, filling hearty honest dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2003
This is DELICIOUS. It takes a while to prepare, but it is well worth the wait. The only thing that I would strongly suggest is to drain the ground beef mixture before pouring it into the dish, otherwise you are left with too much grease and the sauce doesn't set as nicely. I made the dish for my fiancee and I, and he loved it too--I found out that it is the same thing as a Serbian dish called Musaka. It's filling, tasty, and a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2002
This recipe was so delicious that my whole family (including small children) loved it! I did add peas to the meat mixture, and found that it worked quite well with the recipe. This was so well loved that I plan to add it to my regular rotation. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hasselback Potatoes

Swedish version of baked potatoes, this is the ultimate spud: tender and crisp.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States