Shearers' Mince and Potato Hot Pot Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
I liked this meal, but the wife and kids did not. The kids liked the potatoes but not the meat (the Worcestershire taste I think). My wife was unhappy that the potatoes were only partially cooked (even after an extended baking time). I think if I were to make it again I would bake it covered with foil for 45min then uncovered for the last 15min(this is how I cook my scalloped ham and potatoes and the potatoes are always tender). This could be a great meat and potatoes recipe with some adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Go Fish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
I liked this recipe a lot, however, you definately need to drain the meat. To cut down on the grease, I used half a cup of cheddar cheese and half a cup of monteray jack cheese.(cheddar cheese is very oily). As far as the potatoes go, first I pre-cooked the meat with onions, fresh garlic, and chili sauce (replacing the tomato sauce). I then refrigerated the meat for about an hour. Then I sliced the potatoes very thin and cooked the whole thing together for 1hr. The first half hour, I kept it covered with aluminum foil, and then took it off the last half hour. The potoes came out very tender. My husband and kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
This is good and filling, as claimed. It's basically "shepherd's pie meets scalloped potatoes". Good, plain comfort food, but if you are looking for something with more zing, you may want to add a bit of spice or chili sauce to the meat when you cook it. Make sure to cut the potatoes really thin, too, or else you'll be cooking it for a long(er) time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Rossburn, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2002
This one is a keeper! Very yummy indeed. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECMEISTER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
from Kattjovi I have been reading a lot of reviews where people have said they need to drain the fat from the meat. This is an Australian Recipe, and we don't have a high fat content in our mince steak, so we don't need to drain it. I apologise to o/s cooks, I did not realise this when I posted the recipe, and yes Ketchup is Tomato Sauce in Australia. I think this recipe is quite versatile, you can add whatever herbs etc you like, you could even spice it up with a bit of chili powder! That's the fun of cooking,(I think) experimenting! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
Delicioso! I drained the beef. I also used the "soy substitute" recipe from this site instead of Worcheshire Sauce. I tried 5 potatoes since I used 2lbs of beef but that was still too much. Suggest 4 potatoes. I double the sauce since I did have double the meat. Also cooked with foil on for 1 hr and uncovered for 20 more minutes. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Alto, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2002
I found this recipe very bland. It also was greasy as the recipe did not call for draining the ground beef/onion mixture. It also took longer to cook the potatoes to doneness than the recipe claimed. I won't fix this again.We ended up making burgers on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
good recipe,, but to add a little more flavour add a tea spoon of dried mixed herbs to the mince beef,, and if you want a hotter flavour a few diced chilles
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul (uk) cooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crawley, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2007
This is quite a filling casserole. I baked it a little longer and some of the potatoes were not quite cooked. Give it some extra time in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynardo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
This was beautiful...my husband loved the shepards pie crossed with scolloped potato. I added, more vegies like carrots and peas and for the mushrooms, I added half a can of mushrooms in butter sauce, the butter sauce made the mince perfect! Definately a new family fav!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States