Shearers' Mince and Potato Hot Pot Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
Very good and hearty recipe. I solved the potato problem by using canned sliced new potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
one of the best meals ever tasted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
I liked this meal, but the wife and kids did not. The kids liked the potatoes but not the meat (the Worcestershire taste I think). My wife was unhappy that the potatoes were only partially cooked (even after an extended baking time). I think if I were to make it again I would bake it covered with foil for 45min then uncovered for the last 15min(this is how I cook my scalloped ham and potatoes and the potatoes are always tender). This could be a great meat and potatoes recipe with some adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Go Fish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
This was beautiful...my husband loved the shepards pie crossed with scolloped potato. I added, more vegies like carrots and peas and for the mushrooms, I added half a can of mushrooms in butter sauce, the butter sauce made the mince perfect! Definately a new family fav!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
I liked this recipe a lot, however, you definately need to drain the meat. To cut down on the grease, I used half a cup of cheddar cheese and half a cup of monteray jack cheese.(cheddar cheese is very oily). As far as the potatoes go, first I pre-cooked the meat with onions, fresh garlic, and chili sauce (replacing the tomato sauce). I then refrigerated the meat for about an hour. Then I sliced the potatoes very thin and cooked the whole thing together for 1hr. The first half hour, I kept it covered with aluminum foil, and then took it off the last half hour. The potoes came out very tender. My husband and kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
My boyfriend and I love this recipe. We use a potato peeler to "peel" off thin slices. It's faster than trying to slice them with a knife, and we don't have a problem with them being too thick. We don't always put the tomato sauce in, and we usually use fresh mushrooms (if we have them), and we always drain the meat. We also add spices when cooking the meat--usually a little chilli powder and some garlic powder (or fresh minced garlic)--to kick it up a little bit. This is definitely our favorite recipe from this site so far though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
This was horrible. I too sliced the potatoes really thin, and they were still firm after cooking it for more than 40 minutes. Plus is was so so soupy. I think 2 cups of milk is way too much liquid. I probably wont make this again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2004
My husband and I really like this meal and are looking forward to having it regularly. Next time I am going to keep the potato slices in hot water or cook them because a few of the slices remained cold. Adding peas (as some other reviewers have said) does sound interesting, but not essential because we think this meal does stand well on it's own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2004
After reading the reviews I added garlic salt and garlic pepper to the meat after draining the meat. I didn't slice the potatoes very thin; I just precooked them a little before assembling all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2004
This recipe was pretty boring in taste, especially considering how long it takes to make and the preparation involved. I thought I sliced the potatos thin enough, but I guess not since it took an hour in the oven and they were still not finished. I ended up throwing out the who meal. I am not sure if I will make this again. I don't know how to slice the potatos any thinnner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hasselback Potatoes

Swedish version of baked potatoes, this is the ultimate spud: tender and crisp.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States