Shearers' Mince and Potato Hot Pot Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2014
Lovely flavours needed to part boil the potatoes :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Just had this for dinner - I thought it was lovely though did change the recipe a bit - just had onion, carrots, red peppers fried with lean mince, ketchup and a mixture of herbs. Husband loved it but son gave it a 3/5. It's one for my recipe folder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Very greasy, wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmmieYum

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I've made this a couple of times. The second time I added extra seasoning as I did find it slightly bland the first time, although my husband liked it. I'll use the recipe again and continue to alter to our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
This was a really good basic recipe that can be easily modify to suit your tastes and get creative with. I used the basic recipe and added carrots and used fresh mushrooms. To give it more kick and flavor, I added about 2 Tablespoons of Frank's hot sauce and some Herbs De Provence, about 1/4 teaspoon of paprika in addition to the Worcestershire sauce, tomato sauce, salt/pepper. I also added in some irish style pork sausage to the beef to add to the flavors. I drained as much grease as I could before baking. I also added a little more cheese to the cheese sauce and instead of 1 cup of cheese, I used 1 3/4 cup of shredded cheddar and mozzarella. Next time I will add in some asparagus. I put salt/pepper/herbs de provence over the bottom and top layers of potato (and sliced carrots). She doesn't mention greasing the pan, which I did lightly with some olive oil. My husband absolutely loved this meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
very,good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Thanks for an excellent hearty recipe. But based on the previous reviews I made a few changes. I added a few garlic cloves, one vegetable cube, a full cup of tomato sauce and some herbs to the ground beef. When layering in the baking dish I placed the second layer of potatoes (I also added thinly sliced carrots and frozen corn and peas) between the minced meat to help it cook better. I recommend baking this covered for a good hour then removing the cover for another 10minutes. I just had leftovers for lunch and it was better this time round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Thank you! My mum makes this all the time and I'd decided I had to make it for dinner but couldn't find the recipe - not on any aussie sites! Was yummy and very filling. I added garlic to mince and used 2 tbls tomato sauce, skipped the mushrooms and instead of layering cheese sauce I put it on top with a sprinkling of cheese to finish. Microwaved the sliced potato to start to ensure it was cooked and came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
This recipe worked really well for our family and I have added it to my list of "recipes that work". Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
We found it a bit bland, and it took way more than the specified time to cook. We sliced our potatoes very thinly using a mandoline slicer, and it still took nearly an hour and a half of baking for the potatoes to be mostly tender. Some were still crunchy after all that time. If I make it again, I'll add some seasonings to jazz it up a bit, and I'll partially cook my potatoes before baking, to reduce the baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bunkie, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States