She Crab Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
A little bland on it's own, but I added Old Bay to my taste and it made this soup perfect with a very nice texture. It's a great way to use any leftover crabmeat - and a very easy soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
I made this tonight and my family loved it. I did not use cream, only milk. To thicken I added a roux of 1 tsp cornstarch and 3 tsp of water. I also added old bay seasoning and 1/2 cup Duplin's Scuppernong (sweet) white wine, and parsley flakes, and a dash or two of hot sauce. It really is a great base to make into your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
Also gave 3 stars because by itself it would be a little bland. As a base for cream of crab soup it is perfect, and that's exactly what i was looking for. I added a TON of stuff: Cayenne, creole, lemon thyme, fresh purple basil, old bay, zesty seasoned salt with a hint of lime in place of regular salt, celery seed, red pepper, (if you haven't noticed, I like my soups SPICY!) I wish i would have had celery to add but i didnt, I didn't really add any other vegetables besides the onions. For the meat I loaded it up and used about a lb of imitation crab, a lb of jumbo lump crab drained with a little juice left and added to the soup, and 3 small pieces of tilapia i sauteed, and flaked up in a pan were added to the soup. I also added a dash of reisling wine. Anyways this is an awesome base so use it and get creative, make what you like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
This was very quick and easy and a good way to use left over crab legs. I did add a touch of old bay to the recipe - simply because i love the spice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
I would recommend using this soup as your base to get started! Thus the reason for the low or average rating. Just going strictly by this recipe - left me with a very bland soup with absolutely no flavor!! I did alot of adding, just by taste, of course - no specific measurements. I added a combination of the following: fresh basil, a little chicken broth, a little extra heavy cream, tomatoe and jalapeno flavored cheddar cheese (and even topped to decorate when served), pinch of sugar, Old Bay, and little additional salt and pepper. Once all of these additions were made to the recipe - it was FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
I'm sorry, I accidentally clicked this to rate it, however was trying to rate a different dish. As for the Soup, Maybe I did something wrong, cause mine wasn't so good to me, but my husband did like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watson, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Belle Chasse, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2002
Absolutely wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2000
Great recipe. I did add a touch of Old Bay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States