Shaved Brussels Sprouts with Bacon and Almonds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
No criticism, no changes, no suggestions...except to make this, and just as the recipe is written. Few recipes are perfect as is, but this one is in that category. Beautiful, flavorful, and extraordinary vegetable side dish. I could eat it by the bowl full! If you rate this less than 5-stars, it's only because you don't like Brussels sprouts in the first place!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Oh My Goodness...made these this evening. Shaved them with my ceramic slicer and nothing could be easier. Used olive oil and butter, then tossed in some REAL bacon bits at the end...Let them sit in the pan long enough to get a bit of brown/caramalized and they were delicious and nutty...even the teenaged boys who turned up their noses dove back for seconds. FOUR teens ate brussels sprouts!!! Hades has frozen over in our city. A definate KEEPER...thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelteredrose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I have been making a similar recipe for years, and it has been a hit with even the non-brussel sprout lovers. I make it with a few differences.....instead of almonds, I use pine nuts. this is a very nice taste, saute until lightly toasted, and use seasoning salt. Also at he end, with the crumbled bacon, add sliced green onion tops. This is delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hixson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
I agree that this recipe is a great crowd pleaser, but 4 pounds of Brussels sprouts is WAY too much. I used half that amount with the same amount of the other ingredients and it worked perfectly. I served it for 8 people and we had plenty of leftovers, which reheated surprisingly well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
We left the almonds out and this was still great. Very light. Almost reminded me of the innards of a spring roll. We will be making again & again (and I hate Brussel Sprouts)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Matthews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2008
MADE A BRUSSEL SPROUT LOVER OUT OF M FAMILY! Have made this 4-5 times in the past two months. The kids (7 & 8 yrs old) love it and the men ask for seconds. I am amazed at how good this is. One change I did do when I was short of time one day was to cut the sprouts in 1/2 and then steam them. I don't have a food processor and didn't have the time to individually chop each brussel sprout that day. Turned out just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whitelotuskim

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
This was great. We used about 2 lbs or less of sprouts. My husband cut the sprouts up in 1/3's or 1/4's and it still turned out great. We realized we didn't have almonds and used pistachios and still good. I'd recommend this to brussel sprout fans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Perfect as it is. Hubby HATES brussell sprouts but devoured this when I made it to go along with pork chops, and even asked for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I took this to Christmas (potluck) and for those that liked brussel sprouts it was well accepted. I followed the recipe but found it bland....so I added fresh mushrooms, onions, parma cheese, oregano and some red pepper flakes (as I like a bite to my food). Also instead of the vinegar, I used rhine wine. I agree with others...I used 4lbs of Brussels sprouts....and it WAS way to much...I put it in a 9by12 cake pan...brimming full....and baked it covered with foil...there was too much to try to cook it in a stove top pan. The oven worked GREAT !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Apache Junction, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Sounded great but was NOT exciting. It made way too much (and we eat large portions of veg), needed to cook A LOT longer than stated, and I had to add oil while cooking to help wilt it. It's possible that since I used center cut bacon that was the problem, but I will not be making this recipe as written again. I too had to doctor this up to eat it and was left with a big ol' container of leftovers that nobody ate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Duck Fat-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make easy Brussels sprouts roasted with duck fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States