Shaved Brussels Sprouts with Bacon and Almonds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Left out the almonds (didn't have any on hand) and used balsamic vinegar instead of red wine vinegar. Absolutely DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
The brussels sprouts came out absolutely delicious! I replaced bacon with butter. My husband noted that these are the best brussels sprouts he's ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Hands down, THE best brussel sprouts I've ever eaten!! I made the recipe as directed but used only about 3 lbs of sprouts. After I added the sprouts to the pan and stirred to mix everything up, I added a wee bit of water as the pan was dry. This allowed the sprouts to steam and soften a bit. I'm not a huge brussel sprout fan but these were truly excellent. I loved the red wine vinegar in it...next time I may even increase the amount of vinegar. Even if you think you don't like sprouts, give this one a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shonna11
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I add more bacon, more vinegar and some green onions. This is one of my favorite recipes of all time. I love brussels sprouts in general, but this is heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I'm one of those horrible grown ups who won't eat vegetables. And I ate these. And I liked them. My boyfriend said these were the highlight of his dinner. They really were that good. I used a mandolin slicer to shave them and it was very easy and they looked great. We will definitely be having these again, soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: London, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Cut the recipe in half and only used 10 oz shaved brussel sprouts from Trader Joes. I think I would have liked this better without the vinegar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Amazing! made this for company, and everyone loved it-even those that previously stated they didnt like brussel srpouts! Only substituion I made was I used chopped toasted macadamia nuts. You will not be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I used one pound of brussel sprouts with 4 slices of bacon and kept all other ingredients the same. I added 1/4 cup of water toward the end of cooking and put a lid on them until the water was gone to soften the brussel sprouts a bit. We loved the taste. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
My kids (and husband) ate it and loved it. It was easy and quick. This will be a new Thanksgiving staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Siddy1228

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I didn't think I liked brussel sprouts, but I ended up with some in my crisper and decided to try them. I came across this recipe and gave it a shot. What a nice surprise!! I enjoyed this. My husband and teenager no so much. I would make it again for myself though! I scaled down to 2 servings but used 3 slices of bacon, and poured off most of the grease. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Duck Fat-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make easy Brussels sprouts roasted with duck fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States