Shaved Brussels Sprouts with Bacon and Almonds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I have been making a similar recipe for years, and it has been a hit with even the non-brussel sprout lovers. I make it with a few differences.....instead of almonds, I use pine nuts. this is a very nice taste, saute until lightly toasted, and use seasoning salt. Also at he end, with the crumbled bacon, add sliced green onion tops. This is delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hixson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Oh My Goodness...made these this evening. Shaved them with my ceramic slicer and nothing could be easier. Used olive oil and butter, then tossed in some REAL bacon bits at the end...Let them sit in the pan long enough to get a bit of brown/caramalized and they were delicious and nutty...even the teenaged boys who turned up their noses dove back for seconds. FOUR teens ate brussels sprouts!!! Hades has frozen over in our city. A definate KEEPER...thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelteredrose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Danielle in Dallas
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
This was pretty yummy, something different to have for dinner. Something about the red wine vinegar didn't taste right though, and you have to be careful to cook the brussel sprouts long enough for the right texture. Thank you for a different type of recipe and for a new taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Flower Mound, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
I couldn't believe it I have never got my fiance to try brussels sprouts till I cooked them tonight using this recipe he said they smelled so good he had to try a taste...Guess what? He really likes them...I loved the taste of them too. Any recipe that will get him to eat more veggies I will definately rate as a 5 star thankyou
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
No criticism, no changes, no suggestions...except to make this, and just as the recipe is written. Few recipes are perfect as is, but this one is in that category. Beautiful, flavorful, and extraordinary vegetable side dish. I could eat it by the bowl full! If you rate this less than 5-stars, it's only because you don't like Brussels sprouts in the first place!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
Very good!! My husband and I loved it. I did half the recipe and it was still a HUGE amount... could have fed a family of 6 easily. Make sure you use thick slices of bacon so that you get enough fat to cook with, also make sure you slice them thin. I got a little lazy near the end of my slicing and the thick pieces took longer to cook. This is a fantastic recipe and I will be making it for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
1/2 the sprouts, use full amount of everything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Inwood, Iowa, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
I agree that this recipe is a great crowd pleaser, but 4 pounds of Brussels sprouts is WAY too much. I used half that amount with the same amount of the other ingredients and it worked perfectly. I served it for 8 people and we had plenty of leftovers, which reheated surprisingly well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
MADE A BRUSSEL SPROUT LOVER OUT OF M FAMILY! Have made this 4-5 times in the past two months. The kids (7 & 8 yrs old) love it and the men ask for seconds. I am amazed at how good this is. One change I did do when I was short of time one day was to cut the sprouts in 1/2 and then steam them. I don't have a food processor and didn't have the time to individually chop each brussel sprout that day. Turned out just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whitelotuskim

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
Texture is great but the bitterness of the brussel sprouts is accented by the vinegar I fear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NonaCarole

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blaine, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Duck Fat-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make easy Brussels sprouts roasted with duck fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States