Shaved Brussels Sprouts with Bacon and Almonds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
I agree that this recipe is a great crowd pleaser, but 4 pounds of Brussels sprouts is WAY too much. I used half that amount with the same amount of the other ingredients and it worked perfectly. I served it for 8 people and we had plenty of leftovers, which reheated surprisingly well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
1/2 the sprouts, use full amount of everything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Inwood, Iowa, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
Very good!! My husband and I loved it. I did half the recipe and it was still a HUGE amount... could have fed a family of 6 easily. Make sure you use thick slices of bacon so that you get enough fat to cook with, also make sure you slice them thin. I got a little lazy near the end of my slicing and the thick pieces took longer to cook. This is a fantastic recipe and I will be making it for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
No criticism, no changes, no suggestions...except to make this, and just as the recipe is written. Few recipes are perfect as is, but this one is in that category. Beautiful, flavorful, and extraordinary vegetable side dish. I could eat it by the bowl full! If you rate this less than 5-stars, it's only because you don't like Brussels sprouts in the first place!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
I couldn't believe it I have never got my fiance to try brussels sprouts till I cooked them tonight using this recipe he said they smelled so good he had to try a taste...Guess what? He really likes them...I loved the taste of them too. Any recipe that will get him to eat more veggies I will definately rate as a 5 star thankyou
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Danielle in Dallas
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
This was pretty yummy, something different to have for dinner. Something about the red wine vinegar didn't taste right though, and you have to be careful to cook the brussel sprouts long enough for the right texture. Thank you for a different type of recipe and for a new taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Flower Mound, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Oh My Goodness...made these this evening. Shaved them with my ceramic slicer and nothing could be easier. Used olive oil and butter, then tossed in some REAL bacon bits at the end...Let them sit in the pan long enough to get a bit of brown/caramalized and they were delicious and nutty...even the teenaged boys who turned up their noses dove back for seconds. FOUR teens ate brussels sprouts!!! Hades has frozen over in our city. A definate KEEPER...thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelteredrose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I have been making a similar recipe for years, and it has been a hit with even the non-brussel sprout lovers. I make it with a few differences.....instead of almonds, I use pine nuts. this is a very nice taste, saute until lightly toasted, and use seasoning salt. Also at he end, with the crumbled bacon, add sliced green onion tops. This is delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hixson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-58 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Maple Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Bacon

Sweet and smoky roasted Brussels sprouts.

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States