Shaved Brussels Sprouts with Bacon and Almonds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterflymomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
We were hesitant to try this recipe, well, anything with Brussels sprouts really. Our local market had them on sale so I thought we'd give them a try. Man were we surprised! I've never met anyone who liked Brussels sprouts until now. This was a fantastic side dish paired with bbq pork tenderloin. I didn't have any regular bacon on hand so I used turkey bacon and a little olive oil and it still turned out delicious. We were very impressed. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MintNChip

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cypress, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
My hubby, who hates brussel sprouts, said that he was willing to admit that he liked this dish. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. C.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Wow, thinly slicing 4 pounds of brussel sprouts is VERY time consuming and the end results were just so so. I had to do a lot of doctoring up just to make this dish edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
Excellent! Even my pickiest child who never eats veggies at this. Omitted the wine with good result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
Very good, people who don't like Brussels sprouts like this. A new favorite for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
Texture is great but the bitterness of the brussel sprouts is accented by the vinegar I fear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NonaCarole

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blaine, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
MADE A BRUSSEL SPROUT LOVER OUT OF M FAMILY! Have made this 4-5 times in the past two months. The kids (7 & 8 yrs old) love it and the men ask for seconds. I am amazed at how good this is. One change I did do when I was short of time one day was to cut the sprouts in 1/2 and then steam them. I don't have a food processor and didn't have the time to individually chop each brussel sprout that day. Turned out just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whitelotuskim

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
I agree that this recipe is a great crowd pleaser, but 4 pounds of Brussels sprouts is WAY too much. I used half that amount with the same amount of the other ingredients and it worked perfectly. I served it for 8 people and we had plenty of leftovers, which reheated surprisingly well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
1/2 the sprouts, use full amount of everything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Inwood, Iowa, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Maple Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Bacon

Sweet and smoky roasted Brussels sprouts.

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States