Shaved Brussels Sprouts with Bacon and Almonds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
We loved this! I used only one lb of brussles sprouts and left all other ingredients about the same... I also used some flavored almonds that we had for salads.. It was GREAT!!! I love this and will make it many more times...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by superdyna-o

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
This was great. We used about 2 lbs or less of sprouts. My husband cut the sprouts up in 1/3's or 1/4's and it still turned out great. We realized we didn't have almonds and used pistachios and still good. I'd recommend this to brussel sprout fans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterflymomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
We were hesitant to try this recipe, well, anything with Brussels sprouts really. Our local market had them on sale so I thought we'd give them a try. Man were we surprised! I've never met anyone who liked Brussels sprouts until now. This was a fantastic side dish paired with bbq pork tenderloin. I didn't have any regular bacon on hand so I used turkey bacon and a little olive oil and it still turned out delicious. We were very impressed. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MintNChip

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cypress, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
My hubby, who hates brussel sprouts, said that he was willing to admit that he liked this dish. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. C.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Wow, thinly slicing 4 pounds of brussel sprouts is VERY time consuming and the end results were just so so. I had to do a lot of doctoring up just to make this dish edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
Excellent! Even my pickiest child who never eats veggies at this. Omitted the wine with good result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
Very good, people who don't like Brussels sprouts like this. A new favorite for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
Texture is great but the bitterness of the brussel sprouts is accented by the vinegar I fear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NonaCarole

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blaine, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
MADE A BRUSSEL SPROUT LOVER OUT OF M FAMILY! Have made this 4-5 times in the past two months. The kids (7 & 8 yrs old) love it and the men ask for seconds. I am amazed at how good this is. One change I did do when I was short of time one day was to cut the sprouts in 1/2 and then steam them. I don't have a food processor and didn't have the time to individually chop each brussel sprout that day. Turned out just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whitelotuskim

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 41-50 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Maple Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Bacon

Sweet and smoky roasted Brussels sprouts.

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States