Shaved Brussels Sprouts with Bacon and Almonds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I took this to Christmas (potluck) and for those that liked brussel sprouts it was well accepted. I followed the recipe but found it bland....so I added fresh mushrooms, onions, parma cheese, oregano and some red pepper flakes (as I like a bite to my food). Also instead of the vinegar, I used rhine wine. I agree with others...I used 4lbs of Brussels sprouts....and it WAS way to much...I put it in a 9by12 cake pan...brimming full....and baked it covered with foil...there was too much to try to cook it in a stove top pan. The oven worked GREAT !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Apache Junction, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Absolutely excellent! It has become a Thanksgiving tradition at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Perfect as it is. Hubby HATES brussell sprouts but devoured this when I made it to go along with pork chops, and even asked for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Sounded great but was NOT exciting. It made way too much (and we eat large portions of veg), needed to cook A LOT longer than stated, and I had to add oil while cooking to help wilt it. It's possible that since I used center cut bacon that was the problem, but I will not be making this recipe as written again. I too had to doctor this up to eat it and was left with a big ol' container of leftovers that nobody ate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Wow-I thought this recipe was really fantastic. I have had brussell sprouts with bacon but never thought to thinly slice them. The addition of vinegar to the sprouts was really nice-I can't believe I never thought of that. This was really almost like a salad-many possibilites. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRACI8878

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
I did not find these very tasty. I made them as a vegetable side dish for Thanksgiving last year and I found it a little bland. Also the brussell sprouts were a little tough. My guests liked them but it was definitely not a home run. Maybe if I had cooked the brussell sprouts a little in water? I would have cooked them in butter instead of the bacon fat to add some flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
This was very yummy. It actually convinced my boyfriend (a profound veggie hater) to try Brussels sprouts!! While he only ate half, he a) actually tried them and b) had more opposition to the almonds than to the sprouts themselves. I was out of red wine vinegar, so I subbed the white wine kind- not sure what the difference would have been... I ate them for leftovers too- just as good the next day. Good work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
We loved this! I used only one lb of brussles sprouts and left all other ingredients about the same... I also used some flavored almonds that we had for salads.. It was GREAT!!! I love this and will make it many more times...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by superdyna-o

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
This was great. We used about 2 lbs or less of sprouts. My husband cut the sprouts up in 1/3's or 1/4's and it still turned out great. We realized we didn't have almonds and used pistachios and still good. I'd recommend this to brussel sprout fans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterflymomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Duck Fat-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make easy Brussels sprouts roasted with duck fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States