Shaved Brussels Sprouts with Bacon and Almonds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I gotta say that this recipie had to be changed right away. First I did not have red wine vinegar nor almonds. SO, I used Wegmans Marsala cooking wine and pecans. Everything else was the same. BUT if you know the sweetness of pecans and marsala wine, you can imagine this dish having just a hint of sweetness to it. It is so awesome this way, I don't plan on ever trying it with the vinegar or almonds. My hubby who never liked brussel sprouts helps me slice the pecans and sprouts. I am serving this for company tomorrow night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Hamburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This is my first review! I thought this was terrible. I didn't like the texture or the flavor. You'd think any recipe with bacon would be worth trying, but not this one. I'm sticking with steamed brussels and cheese sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
This was delicious! I will make this again and again. Only problem I had was the 18 hours it took to slice all the sprouts. Still, the effort was well worth the end results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I was a doubter but am now a convert! All the adults liked it, but the kids (5yo and 2yo) stayed skeptical. It was a new food and they don't like change. I'll server it nine more times and they'll be converts also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
As another reviewer suggested, I cut the brussel sprouts into quarters and then sauteed with pine nuts, butter, and olive oil. I also added real bacon pieces at the end. This was my first time to make brussel sprouts and they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Always liked brussel sprouts but simply LOVED this recipe! Easy and delish! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sides Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johannesburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I have seen this recipe on Food Network and so looked it up here to try it. Bought brussel sprouts especially to do this. I love brussel sprouts, I can usually eat them all myself if everyone else decides to snub them. However, this time even I couldn't choke them down. I will probably be putting these in the compost unless I can find some way of masking them in something else. From now on it's just plain brussel sprouts and butter for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anharelva

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cookstown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Excellent. I did add some brown sugar to help with the carmellization, and used pecans instead of almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QuakerBaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monticello, Indiana, USA
Living In: Carthage, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I took this to Christmas (potluck) and for those that liked brussel sprouts it was well accepted. I followed the recipe but found it bland....so I added fresh mushrooms, onions, parma cheese, oregano and some red pepper flakes (as I like a bite to my food). Also instead of the vinegar, I used rhine wine. I agree with others...I used 4lbs of Brussels sprouts....and it WAS way to much...I put it in a 9by12 cake pan...brimming full....and baked it covered with foil...there was too much to try to cook it in a stove top pan. The oven worked GREAT !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Apache Junction, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Absolutely excellent! It has become a Thanksgiving tradition at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Duck Fat-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make easy Brussels sprouts roasted with duck fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States