Shaved Brussels Sprouts with Bacon and Almonds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
We left the almonds out and this was still great. Very light. Almost reminded me of the innards of a spring roll. We will be making again & again (and I hate Brussel Sprouts)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Matthews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
This dish is excellent, can use cabbage too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Made these and they are terrific. Left out the almonds. We've made it with cabbage before, so thought this would be a good change of pace. It was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I gotta say that this recipie had to be changed right away. First I did not have red wine vinegar nor almonds. SO, I used Wegmans Marsala cooking wine and pecans. Everything else was the same. BUT if you know the sweetness of pecans and marsala wine, you can imagine this dish having just a hint of sweetness to it. It is so awesome this way, I don't plan on ever trying it with the vinegar or almonds. My hubby who never liked brussel sprouts helps me slice the pecans and sprouts. I am serving this for company tomorrow night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Hamburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This is my first review! I thought this was terrible. I didn't like the texture or the flavor. You'd think any recipe with bacon would be worth trying, but not this one. I'm sticking with steamed brussels and cheese sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
This was delicious! I will make this again and again. Only problem I had was the 18 hours it took to slice all the sprouts. Still, the effort was well worth the end results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I was a doubter but am now a convert! All the adults liked it, but the kids (5yo and 2yo) stayed skeptical. It was a new food and they don't like change. I'll server it nine more times and they'll be converts also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
As another reviewer suggested, I cut the brussel sprouts into quarters and then sauteed with pine nuts, butter, and olive oil. I also added real bacon pieces at the end. This was my first time to make brussel sprouts and they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Always liked brussel sprouts but simply LOVED this recipe! Easy and delish! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sides Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johannesburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I have seen this recipe on Food Network and so looked it up here to try it. Bought brussel sprouts especially to do this. I love brussel sprouts, I can usually eat them all myself if everyone else decides to snub them. However, this time even I couldn't choke them down. I will probably be putting these in the compost unless I can find some way of masking them in something else. From now on it's just plain brussel sprouts and butter for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anharelva

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cookstown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Maple Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Bacon

Sweet and smoky roasted Brussels sprouts.

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States