Shaved Brussels Sprouts with Bacon and Almonds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
This is a great recipe. Delicious. I bought fresh brussel sprouts in the summer when they were out of season. The flavor was alright but remember that the little ones taste best, not the big ones. Being out of season, there were a lot of big ones. Next time I will make sure that when I slice them, all the leaves are shredded even if there is some waste at the stem end of the sprout. In my case, some of the pieces remained in "slices" rather than totally shredded due to the fact that some part of the stem was still in tact. Next time I will definitely cut them so that there are no slices, only shredded leaves because the slices didn't cook as quickly and stayed pretty hard when the shredded leaves were on the verge of being overcooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
I used less bacon to save a few calories but other than that made no changes. We love Brussels sprouts and really enjoyed this dish. I would not hesitate to attempt to convert a sprouts hater with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I have been making brussels sprouts shaved this way for a long time but this recipe put it over the top! LOVED IT!!! Almonds are great in this and the bacon is perfect! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RebeccaD
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Very good! My family loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RebeccaD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Millerton, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
good, husband like alot, although he loves brussels, will probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
This is the path to brussel sprout love for those who haven't tried them or don't like them. I'm quite sure that it is equally good as written, but I did sub pine nuts for the almonds. Next time, I'm adding a minced shallot with the garlic and tossing in dry roasted pine nuts with the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I love this recipe, can eat a plate full of this with nothing else! I just use bacon bits when don't have fresh bacon and it's still good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
We left the almonds out and this was still great. Very light. Almost reminded me of the innards of a spring roll. We will be making again & again (and I hate Brussel Sprouts)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Matthews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
This dish is excellent, can use cabbage too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Made these and they are terrific. Left out the almonds. We've made it with cabbage before, so thought this would be a good change of pace. It was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Duck Fat-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make easy Brussels sprouts roasted with duck fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States