Shaved Brussels Sprouts with Bacon and Almonds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
This recipe was easy when I purchased preshredded Brussels! It was really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stuarts Draft, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
My husband says that this is the ONLY way to eat brussel sprouts. I agree that they are pretty tasty... but I did have to add more 3 more bacon slices than called for and I had to cook it a lot longer than the recipe stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Latonya
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Love it! I bought a bag of shaved brussels sprouts at Trader Joes and searched for a recipe. Some consider this backwards, but I wanted brussels sprouts. Im so delighted I decided to make this!! DELICIOUS! I made a few adjustments: 7 slices of bacon (because bacon makes everything better). In addition, I used almond slivers since they were out of sliced almonds. I will be making this dish again (with a little less red wine vinegar). Reminds me of a fried cabbage dish I make during the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AMB1967
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Follow the recipe with all ingredients with the exception of the almonds. It was Delicious. Even my 15 year old daughter ate them and she would not eat Brussels sprout for no one. This is a keeper in my household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
The bacon grease makes it pretty heavy but the flavor is okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Left out the almonds (didn't have any on hand) and used balsamic vinegar instead of red wine vinegar. Absolutely DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
The brussels sprouts came out absolutely delicious! I replaced bacon with butter. My husband noted that these are the best brussels sprouts he's ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Startseva

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Hands down, THE best brussel sprouts I've ever eaten!! I made the recipe as directed but used only about 3 lbs of sprouts. After I added the sprouts to the pan and stirred to mix everything up, I added a wee bit of water as the pan was dry. This allowed the sprouts to steam and soften a bit. I'm not a huge brussel sprout fan but these were truly excellent. I loved the red wine vinegar in it...next time I may even increase the amount of vinegar. Even if you think you don't like sprouts, give this one a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shonna11
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I add more bacon, more vinegar and some green onions. This is one of my favorite recipes of all time. I love brussels sprouts in general, but this is heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I'm one of those horrible grown ups who won't eat vegetables. And I ate these. And I liked them. My boyfriend said these were the highlight of his dinner. They really were that good. I used a mandolin slicer to shave them and it was very easy and they looked great. We will definitely be having these again, soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: London, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Maple Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Bacon

Sweet and smoky roasted Brussels sprouts.

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States