Shaved Brussels Sprouts with Bacon and Almonds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Left out the almonds (didn't have any on hand) and used balsamic vinegar instead of red wine vinegar. Absolutely DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
The brussels sprouts came out absolutely delicious! I replaced bacon with butter. My husband noted that these are the best brussels sprouts he's ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Hands down, THE best brussel sprouts I've ever eaten!! I made the recipe as directed but used only about 3 lbs of sprouts. After I added the sprouts to the pan and stirred to mix everything up, I added a wee bit of water as the pan was dry. This allowed the sprouts to steam and soften a bit. I'm not a huge brussel sprout fan but these were truly excellent. I loved the red wine vinegar in it...next time I may even increase the amount of vinegar. Even if you think you don't like sprouts, give this one a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shonna11
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I add more bacon, more vinegar and some green onions. This is one of my favorite recipes of all time. I love brussels sprouts in general, but this is heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I'm one of those horrible grown ups who won't eat vegetables. And I ate these. And I liked them. My boyfriend said these were the highlight of his dinner. They really were that good. I used a mandolin slicer to shave them and it was very easy and they looked great. We will definitely be having these again, soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: London, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Cut the recipe in half and only used 10 oz shaved brussel sprouts from Trader Joes. I think I would have liked this better without the vinegar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Amazing! made this for company, and everyone loved it-even those that previously stated they didnt like brussel srpouts! Only substituion I made was I used chopped toasted macadamia nuts. You will not be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I used one pound of brussel sprouts with 4 slices of bacon and kept all other ingredients the same. I added 1/4 cup of water toward the end of cooking and put a lid on them until the water was gone to soften the brussel sprouts a bit. We loved the taste. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
My kids (and husband) ate it and loved it. It was easy and quick. This will be a new Thanksgiving staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Siddy1228

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I didn't think I liked brussel sprouts, but I ended up with some in my crisper and decided to try them. I came across this recipe and gave it a shot. What a nice surprise!! I enjoyed this. My husband and teenager no so much. I would make it again for myself though! I scaled down to 2 servings but used 3 slices of bacon, and poured off most of the grease. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Duck Fat-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make easy Brussels sprouts roasted with duck fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States