Sharon's Scrumptious Souvlaki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
hi I used pork with a tzatziki sauce -fabulous on pita with onions and tomato
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thessalon, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Godfrey, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
Lovely recipe. The lamb looked amazing after being left over night to marinate. I made it exactly as per the recipe and it was just lovely. My boyfriend loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
I used pork tenderloin instead of lamb and marinated it overnight. Served it on a plate (skipped the sauce and pita) with orzo, asparagus, and roasted red peppers. My greek boyfriend loved it, (and said thanks for the delicious dinner!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Daine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Groton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
The meal was very good with the meat tender and flavoursome. I added the lemon juice as recommended. I found the red wine flavour quite strong and made it taste different to the souvlaki flavour I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
This recipes lives up to its name - definitely scrumptious. The marinade is perfect and would work well with beef also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
This was nothing like any lamb I have eaten at any Greek restaurant. I marinated the lamb overnight as stated, and was disappointed with the flavor. I have two tips regarding the cucumber/yogurt sauce, and these are: 1. Spoon the yogurt into a coffe filter, and put it somewhere so that the fluid can drain from the yogurt. This result in a firmer, creamier yogurt. 2. Use English/Hothouse cucumbers instead of the regular waxy cukes. Strip the skin off with a vegetable peeler, and then grate the flesh into the yogurt with a cheesegrater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
Very good, my whole family loved it, as good if not better than what one would find at a authentic Greek restaurant
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy M B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
Delicious! I used pork tenderloin instead of lamb. I also drained the yogurt and squeezed out the excess water from the cucumber. Everyone loved it. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chantilly, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2005
I haven't tried this w/ lamb, but it is wonderful w/ chicken. I've made it multiple times & have successfully substituted white wine in the marinade when it was all I had on hand. Out of personal preference, I reduce the garlic in the tzatziki sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2005
This was FABULOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIXIESDAME

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

High Seas Chicken Souvlaki

See how to make simple, fresh chicken souvlaki.

Grecian Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a zesty, Greek-inspired marinade for grilled pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States