Sharon's Scrumptious Souvlaki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
We loved this recipe. Marinated the meat overnight. Great flavours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JRebel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barlinek, Western Pomeranian, Poland
Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
I made this for my husband on Father's Day, he loved it and so did I. Our 10 month old son went nuts, he thought it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly McCartney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
Rating for the sauce 4.5 stars... rating for the meat 3 stars. The wine flavor was dominant and I didn't like it. No raves from the family. We love gyros and this wasn't the flavor we were expecting. I had to use pork tenderloin as lamb was unavailable. I cut the sauce recipe in half and I could have halved it again as it made a lot! Not bad, just not what we were looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
Very unique taste. I really enjoyed this. I wasn't able to find lamb at my local grocery store, so I did substitute pork tenderloin for the lamb. The mint helped give the pork a lamb taste (as I usually associate the two.) Thanks. One last note, this makes A LOT of cucumber sauce, next time I will cut the recipe for the sauce in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4my4girls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
Excellent meal, better than you would get at a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Horseheads, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
Wonderful! You can easly exchange the red wine for red wine vinegar, it's not as tart as you think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonya Gullino

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cherryvale, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
I used the marinade recipe for lamb leg steaks and then broiled them for 5 minutes on each side. They were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
This was pretty tasty. It was the first time I've used lamb, and it wasn't bad at all. I'm not sure if you can purchase de-boned cuts of lamb but I would suggest it to make it easier to cut into cubes. The yogurt sauce that you make is pretty good but I was hoping for something a little closer to tzatziki. Overall this is a fairly quick and easy meal to prepare - you can do much of the prep way ahead of time if you needed to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
Absolutely wonderful! Used pork instead of lamb and broiled. Added 1/2 cup of lemon juice to marinade and made only 1/2 the recipe for the sauce (bought greek yogurt instead of regular plain not sure if it made a difference or not). It was soooooo delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
I haven’t tried the Souvlaki yet but I love the yogurt recipe. I use it on all of the Middle Eastern dishes I make (good with the spices), most recently Eggplant and Lamb Stew. Tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

High Seas Chicken Souvlaki

See how to make simple, fresh chicken souvlaki.

Grecian Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a zesty, Greek-inspired marinade for grilled pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States