Sharon's Scrumptious Souvlaki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
The first time I made this recipe, I added just a little lemon juice to the marinade as recommended by other reviewers, but it was too much acid. Second time I followed the recipe more precisely and thought it was better. The cucumber yogurt sauce is quite good and compares favourably to other tzatziki sauces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
The marinade had a great flavor, but I wasn't completely happy with how the meat turned out - a little tough. 10 minutes on the grill may have been a bit too long. Of course, I don't cook with lamb much, so I probably should have done a bit more homework on how to handle the meat before tackling this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Recipe was "pretty good"...not "bad", but prefer another recipe. I have been cooking many years, but don't comment/post much.Had to comment on this because Never, Ever had Souvlaki without FETA CHEESE. Only read a handful of comments, but was surprised no one else said the same. This recipe also seemed like a combined recipe for Gyros/Souvlaki.I am making Souvlaki for dinner tonite, but will DEFINITELY stick to my own recipe. Try to find time to post later and hope others enjoy. mangiare, mangiare! (pronounced Mon-ja)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grammaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I made this with a pork loin. It was really good. The whole family loved it. We did use red wine vinegar instead of red wine and it was great. We did cheat an buy store made tzatziki.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
I LOVE this recipe! Very simple to make and very flavorful; however, I've always made it with chicken, not lamb (due to cost). Other than that, I follow the recipe exactly. I'd like to try using fresh mint instead of dried. The homemade tzatziki sauce is delicious - tastes very authentic. I have made this again and again - a family favorite. I serve it with Greek style potatoes and the "Greek Salad III" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Added lemon juice, as per other reviews. Served with sliced kalamatas, pita bread, crumbled feta, sliced tomatoes and red onions. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Best recipe ever! We love this Souvlaki. The cucumber sauce is excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
This was a huge hit; and the leftovers warmed up very well. I only made a 1/4 batch of the sauce and still had too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Made the meat part of this dish with eye of round instead of lamb, because my kids won't eat lamb. It was delicious and easy to do. Marinated for about 6 hours and the meat was fairly tender. Also made the tzatziki part of the recipe and it was excellent. I minced the cucumber instead of grating it, as I like that texture better and I hate when the grated cucumber gets all over everything. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
I used extra marinade to soak thinly sliced onions and tomatoes for about an hour. That, along with tsatziki and feta cheese, added enough flavor to compensate for the lack luster flavor of the marinated chicken. Even adding lemon juice to the marinade did not add up to good Greek-flavored chicken. Don't get me wrong, the dish as a whole was a success, but I was hoping for more flavor from the marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

High Seas Chicken Souvlaki

See how to make simple, fresh chicken souvlaki.

Grecian Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a zesty, Greek-inspired marinade for grilled pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States