Sharon's Jamaican Fruit Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
This is a great recipe. But...it needs 5 cups of flour, not 2 1/2. I use 3 white and 2 whole wheat. I use l pound of delux glace fruit mix and 1 1/2 lbs. of raisins. I soak the fruit in 3 cups of dry red wine. Now...all fruit cake needs nuts!I use 8 0z. each of almonds and pecans...chopped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
This recipe was very easy to follow and the final result was ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS my family and friends keep asking for more. I just added some browning as I like my cake to very dark and I used raisins that had been soaking in wine and rum for months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
this came out great! my mother always told me about how she used to make her jamaican rum cakes with her mother. and after so many years we finally made one. the batter was a little bit to watery so we added more flower. but other than that this recipe was the best!! and we werent sure if we were supposed to add more red wine or if it was the wine used to soak tje fruits so we didnt add more and it turned out fine. definately will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
THIS IS THE BEST! Well atleast that is the reviews I have gotten since Christmas. I had never attempted a fruitcake before and this year did it to surprise my husband who is also a Chef. He LOVES it as did my Dad who normally only eats my Grandmother's. Unlike most fruit cakes...this one is rich and moist, using the real dried fruit (which I soaked for a week in the fridge with 2 cups red wine) sets it above all others! If you want to make an award winning (well atleast in our family) fruitcake, then this is the one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buttrflylace3535

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
This is a REAL Jamaican Fruit Cake recipe - NOT the things that comedians make fun of every holiday season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
Ok, this got 2 stars but only because the flavor is really good. This was a really difficult recipe, partly because the directions don't seem very clear. Specifically, the wine. If you soak the fruit in wine as suggested in the tips in small print on the bottom, are you supposed to use the 2 cups that is listed in the recipe ingredients? Or is that 2 cups in addition to whatever the soaking takes? Same with the rum. I assumed, maybe incorrectly, that it was in addition to what was used in soaking. It did seem a little wet. But maybe it was supposed to... And as far as cooking time goes, I inserted a knife in and it came out clean. Unfortunately after trying to get it out of the pan I discovered that it was cooked on the top, actually starting to get a little darker than I like, and still gooey toward the bottom and very dark on the very bottom. The cooked part must have been scraping off the gooey part as I was removing the knife. So, I have a very good tasting but gooey mess that will be eaten by my immediate family (who are used to being guinea pigs) instead of something special I had wanted to take to a family dinner tonight. Fortunately there's still time to go to the store for something else. Some additional direction clarification by those who have been successful with this recipe would be helpful. I'd try it again if such help were available since as I said, the taste even of the goo was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
This is a keeper. Not so dark as one might think. Maybe because I used golden raisins. I also used C'raisins by Ocean Spray. Also, because I believe that you should only cook with what you drink, I used cognac, blackberry liqueur, port wine and white rum - no cheap stuff :). Hence I'll only make it once a year. My husband declared it the best fruit cake he's ever had - and we have some professional bakers in the family (of which I'm not one). It didn't come out as perfectly as I'd hoped, but I think that comes with my inexperience. Definitely give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
This is the best. My kids and I had fun with this recipe. I will keep this recipe and pass it on to anyone who is interested. Thanks a million.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
Definitely one of the best, if not the best Christmas cake recipes. I'm actually eating a large slice of the cake now and it's delicious. They say the way to a man's heart is through his stomach; I'd recommend this to single women looking for a husband. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Kingston, Jamaica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
This is a fruit cake that will never be re-gifted or passed on from year-to-year. It will be devoured and leave your family begging for more! It is dense with real fruit, not that candied, artifically colored yuck that is in more traditional fruit cakes. You must take the time to really soak the fruit. My girlfriend from the Caribbean soaks hers for two months before baking the cake, and uses any liquor and combination of dried fruit she has on hand, so be creative! This is now a holiday MUST in our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States