Sharon's Jamaican Fruit Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
This was my first fruit cake and turned out great. I did soak the fruit in the red wine for 1 week and added 1/4 cup "spiced rum". Only problem was that I needed to use 3 pans not 2 and reduced cooking time to 1 hour. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Oh my gosh it came out perfect I will aways use this recipe. I had to incresase some of the spices and add Grace browning, but other than that it came out great. Thx Sharon your recipe really helped
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I make my cake from this recipe for the first time at christmas 2008 and we enjoyed it very much. But, I had my fruit soaking in wine for a few months. I crushed the fruit instead of using it whole. I used brandy instead of white rum (I did not have any). I put more colouring in to get a darker effect I also put more brandy than recommemded. It was very very nice. I am going to make it again and I have recommended to all my family and friends
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I made this cake for the first time over the weekend. I have had to always buy my fruit cake so I decided to try it out. It delicious and moist I used the idea from a member to put a pan of water at the bottom of the oven. I was really moist. I did not add any more rum to the mixture. A note is put it in the pan as the receipe says the abtter won't rise much so you won't end up with four flat cake (:) cakes as i did. I will do it again today as all mine was eaten by the family. These one as christmas presents.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alpena, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Don't believe the other reviews. They must all be adjusting the recipe to make it work. So if you're good at improvising, try it. Otherwise forget it! I just made it. It's burned -- 350 F for 1.5 hours is too long. Its flavor isn't all that great -- I've had real caribbean fruit cake made by a woman from Guyana that tasted much better. And it's not even dark -- mine is a golden blonde color. It looks like a sponge cake with dried fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
One of the best recipes I've ever made. I made it last year('07) and I am planning on making it a yearly tradition. I already have my fruits soaking! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
Like some of the other reviewers, I thought this recipe was a little vague. I soaked the fruit for several weeks in the wine and didn't add anymore wine to the batter. The cakes baked beautifully and smelled divine. Unfortunately, I gave both of them away as presents! I didn't even get a taste. I got great comments from the receivers, so I will definitely try it again. I used a mix of a lot of dried fruits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEXASNANA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
The best "wine cake" I've ever eaten using this recipe- and I bake this every year. I made it for Christmas and everyone loved it. I even saved one pan of cake for New Year's (just soaked with wine and cover it) in the refrigerator and it was wonderful. Many thanks, Sharon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronxville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
I've made this recipe two years in a row now, and I am pretty happy with it. Note that I macerate the dried fruit in the wine, and do not add any additional wine when I make the batter. Also, I bake at a much lower temperature (~275). I suggest a drier wine or more acidic fruit. I made mine with dates, raisins, prunes, and a few cranberries, and it really would have benefited from less prunes and more cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Berkley, Michigan, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States