Sharon's Jamaican Fruit Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I have been using this recipe for the last 3 to 4 years to make Christmas cake. Thank you Sharon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Suprisingly Good!!! So after looking at many different jamaican fruit cake recipe I finally decided to go with this one as it had the most positive review and i must say I am VERY impressed! As other reviews suggested I added about an extra 3/4 cup of Flour and the cake come out perfectly, moist with a good crumb. Baked it in a 23cm/9inch tin and still had some mixture to spare. Baked in the oven for 1hr 20mins on 160c then turned down to 140 half way through. I didnt coat the cake with rum after as i love the crisp crust of the cake together with the moist inside..ahh its just delighful! Give it a try! thanks Sharon!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
i have used this recipe for the past 6 years...my husband gets this every year for bday! I don't eat it but he loves it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
This is it. the taste is very authentic. With this recipe, I win the christmas cake battle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
This recipe is very good...This is my go to recipe for Christmas and wedding cake, everytime I bake this cake I get rave reviews.Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I used this recipe yesterday, and I must say that it didn't disappoint. I have made several attempts in the past with poor results. It didn't help the situation when my wife who is Jamaican had to taste my failed attempts. Haha!!! she tasted this recipe and all I can say is that when I saw that smile on her face and her keep going back for more, her actions spoke in volume. I will agree with a few past submits that you should place a pan with water underneath the cake pans to keep it them moist. Next time I will bake the cakes with grease paper lined pans to keep the edges moist. I will also add a bit more alcohol to the recipe maybe pouring a 1 cup of wine on each cake immediately after removing them from the oven. I have seen my Grandmother- in-law do that in the past when she made the cakes for my wedding. This is a winner enjoy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I've used this recipe a couple times now and changed some things to have the perfect mixture for me. First off there is a technique to mixing this cake. Like the directions, mix butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add eggs one at a time - adding each yoke to the butter and sugar mixture until rubbed in and keeping the white in a separate bowl. Add 2-3 tablespoons rum and a teaspoon of rosé water to the egg whites. Use a beater or mixer to beat the white until it creates a good amount of thick fluff. Add enough of the egg white fluff to the batter until it starts breaking up. When ths happens add enough flour fold the flour in - make the figure 8 with your mixing spoon) to bring it back together, keep doing this until all the egg white and flour are gone. Now add the molasses or browning to mixture and mixed spice (nutmeg & cinnamon) and mix well. To this I now add my fruits (I only use raisins) which are puréed in wine. Grease your baking pans and dust with flour, bake at 250 degrees for 1hr- 1hr:10 minutes. Please note I use a hand mixer to mix everything before the flour. After this I use a wooden spoon to fold the flour in and for the remainder of the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
I have used this recipe several times now with success. Tips to add are ensuring butter & sugar are creamed properly & I add an extra egg. I use dark sugar rather than white & use molasses and gravy browning to get a darker colour. An extra half cup of flour ensures my spoon stands up in the mixture and I alternate adding blended fruit and flour, a 1/3rd at a time. Mix well but don't over mix. A large pan of water in the bottom of the oven helps moisture & getting an even oven temperature which stops the cake from splitting on top. Oven shouldn't be too hot, I reduce the temperature by 50 degrees & bake for extra 20mins. Don't be tempted to open the oven door before it's at least half cooked. Doesn't rise much so can fill the pan to 3/4. I make in advance & baste the cake with a mix of rum & Red Label wine. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I made it and it came out perfectly. The only thing I will change when I make it again is to blend the fruits a little. The prep time was more than 20mins for me but overall it is a thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Love this recipe! I've used this recipe 3 times. I used a lot more fruit peels than dried fruit. Added a bit more molasses and rum. And I've blessed the finished cake by brushing extra rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States