Sharon's Jamaican Fruit Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
This recipe is very good...This is my go to recipe for Christmas and wedding cake, everytime I bake this cake I get rave reviews.Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I used this recipe yesterday, and I must say that it didn't disappoint. I have made several attempts in the past with poor results. It didn't help the situation when my wife who is Jamaican had to taste my failed attempts. Haha!!! she tasted this recipe and all I can say is that when I saw that smile on her face and her keep going back for more, her actions spoke in volume. I will agree with a few past submits that you should place a pan with water underneath the cake pans to keep it them moist. Next time I will bake the cakes with grease paper lined pans to keep the edges moist. I will also add a bit more alcohol to the recipe maybe pouring a 1 cup of wine on each cake immediately after removing them from the oven. I have seen my Grandmother- in-law do that in the past when she made the cakes for my wedding. This is a winner enjoy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I've used this recipe a couple times now and changed some things to have the perfect mixture for me. First off there is a technique to mixing this cake. Like the directions, mix butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add eggs one at a time - adding each yoke to the butter and sugar mixture until rubbed in and keeping the white in a separate bowl. Add 2-3 tablespoons rum and a teaspoon of rosé water to the egg whites. Use a beater or mixer to beat the white until it creates a good amount of thick fluff. Add enough of the egg white fluff to the batter until it starts breaking up. When ths happens add enough flour fold the flour in - make the figure 8 with your mixing spoon) to bring it back together, keep doing this until all the egg white and flour are gone. Now add the molasses or browning to mixture and mixed spice (nutmeg & cinnamon) and mix well. To this I now add my fruits (I only use raisins) which are puréed in wine. Grease your baking pans and dust with flour, bake at 250 degrees for 1hr- 1hr:10 minutes. Please note I use a hand mixer to mix everything before the flour. After this I use a wooden spoon to fold the flour in and for the remainder of the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
I have used this recipe several times now with success. Tips to add are ensuring butter & sugar are creamed properly & I add an extra egg. I use dark sugar rather than white & use molasses and gravy browning to get a darker colour. An extra half cup of flour ensures my spoon stands up in the mixture and I alternate adding blended fruit and flour, a 1/3rd at a time. Mix well but don't over mix. A large pan of water in the bottom of the oven helps moisture & getting an even oven temperature which stops the cake from splitting on top. Oven shouldn't be too hot, I reduce the temperature by 50 degrees & bake for extra 20mins. Don't be tempted to open the oven door before it's at least half cooked. Doesn't rise much so can fill the pan to 3/4. I make in advance & baste the cake with a mix of rum & Red Label wine. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I made it and it came out perfectly. The only thing I will change when I make it again is to blend the fruits a little. The prep time was more than 20mins for me but overall it is a thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Love this recipe! I've used this recipe 3 times. I used a lot more fruit peels than dried fruit. Added a bit more molasses and rum. And I've blessed the finished cake by brushing extra rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
I tried this recipe for the first time this xmas. I began soaking the fruits about a month prior to xmas. Be sure to seal it with plastic seal if you are soaking the fruits to keep the flavour in the fruit. (I had sealed one set of fruits with foil paper and they lost some flavour, the one sealed by plastic wrap didnt.) I followed some of the reviews and added 1/2 cup of flour to the recipe and 1/2 cup of rum, also 1/4 bottle of Grace browning. I loved the cake! When I first tried it, it seemed on the bland side. I poured Red Label Wine on the cake, and a little everyday after that and the flavour of the cake came right out. Next time, I will try brushing some wine on while its baking as one of the other reviewers had said. The consistency was perfect, the colour was perfect (a nice dark brown colour), and relatives LOVED the cake (I had drizzled wine on it before serving). I used Red Label wine as some Jamaicans swear by it. I didnt add the 2 cups of wine to the recipe other than what the fruits were soaking in as they were soaking in a lot of wine and I had recently added more to the soaking fruits (two days before). Im not sure if that is the reason why it was a little bland at first but as I said, drizzling wine on the cake after baking, made a big difference. Also, I cooked the cake in another pan that had a little water in it to keep the cake moist. In future, I will add 3/4 cups rum instead of 1/2 cup rum to the original recipe as I could only taste a trace of rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Best best Recipe ever... i make this using a serving for 15....i also blended the fruit mix as i dont really like whole fruit pieces in cake i then soaked fruit over night in mulled red wine, i then boiled and simmered it in in the morning for a couple of hours. i couldn't find molasses so i used dark treacle instead... the cake isnt dark/black as such, but it did go very very dark brown... i sprinkled wine rum about 60 minutes onto the cake whilst it was baking.. the cake was moist, fruity, you cud taste the fruit in the wine, the rum.... perfect! this is a keeper for me and i feel great that i can make this cake with such success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I've made this 3 times now and I can clear up some of the questions everyone is having so that it will turn out well and be delicious! Don't add any more wine than the 2 cups -she only means the wine that is left over in the fruit. I've never added the rum so if you do you may need a little more flour. My Jamaican boyfriend's mom told me that the batter should be thick -stick a wooden spoon into it and it should stay standing (otherwise add more flour). The second time I made it (of course the time I served it to my boyfriend's mom), I totally didn't bake it long enough but the toothpick had come out clean. Here's a better test: touch the top of the cake and it should bounce back when it's done. Good luck and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I tried this recipe Dec' 2010 and shared w/ friends of mine who are Jamaican (I am not, but my stepparent is). I thought it came out well. My friend's father from Jamaican agreed it was pretty good, but he said not to add orange peel (Jamaican fruit cake doesn't use orange peel, but I buy the mixed candied fruit to save money). He also said to use Jamaican rum. I am not a rum drinker so I am can't really appreciating the differences in taste between, Jamaican, Virgin Island or Puerto Rican rum. I thought it was pretty good though I am not a big fruit cake lover. I do it in memory of my mother (she mad a fantastic fruitcake). I am trying it again this year in about a week. My stepfather who is Jamaican, also said I should have started soaking the fruit no later than the summer. I'll try to remember that next summer but really, who is thinking about fruit cake in July:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States