Sharon's Jamaican Fruit Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
This is without a doubt the best fruit cake I have ever eaten - even better than my Mom's. I used Merlot to soak the fruit and added a bit more wine at cooking time( the batter seemed a bit dry )It turned out real moist and nice crunchy fruit - give it a try - you will love it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
I tried this recipe and it was wonderful. I love West Indian fruit cakes and this recipe makes a delicious cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
I have been looking for this recipe for over 5 years. Its the best. This cake reminds me of Christmas's in the Virgin Islands, its a staple for the holidays. This cake came out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SABUYUKCAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
this came out great! my mother always told me about how she used to make her jamaican rum cakes with her mother. and after so many years we finally made one. the batter was a little bit to watery so we added more flower. but other than that this recipe was the best!! and we werent sure if we were supposed to add more red wine or if it was the wine used to soak tje fruits so we didnt add more and it turned out fine. definately will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
This recipe was very easy to follow and the final result was ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS my family and friends keep asking for more. I just added some browning as I like my cake to very dark and I used raisins that had been soaking in wine and rum for months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
This is a fruit cake that will never be re-gifted or passed on from year-to-year. It will be devoured and leave your family begging for more! It is dense with real fruit, not that candied, artifically colored yuck that is in more traditional fruit cakes. You must take the time to really soak the fruit. My girlfriend from the Caribbean soaks hers for two months before baking the cake, and uses any liquor and combination of dried fruit she has on hand, so be creative! This is now a holiday MUST in our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
This is the best. My kids and I had fun with this recipe. I will keep this recipe and pass it on to anyone who is interested. Thanks a million.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
THIS IS THE BEST! Well atleast that is the reviews I have gotten since Christmas. I had never attempted a fruitcake before and this year did it to surprise my husband who is also a Chef. He LOVES it as did my Dad who normally only eats my Grandmother's. Unlike most fruit cakes...this one is rich and moist, using the real dried fruit (which I soaked for a week in the fridge with 2 cups red wine) sets it above all others! If you want to make an award winning (well atleast in our family) fruitcake, then this is the one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buttrflylace3535

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
Definitely one of the best, if not the best Christmas cake recipes. I'm actually eating a large slice of the cake now and it's delicious. They say the way to a man's heart is through his stomach; I'd recommend this to single women looking for a husband. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Kingston, Jamaica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
This is a REAL Jamaican Fruit Cake recipe - NOT the things that comedians make fun of every holiday season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States