Sharon's Jamaican Fruit Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2003
YUMM i tried this once and ever since i have made it about 20 times!!! ITS GOOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2003
I'm really disappointed at this recipe. After I spent time and money, it turned out to be something completely different from what I was expecting. I ended up with so much batter, I filled up the two 9-inch round cake pans the recipe asks for, plus one 9x13 rectangular pan!! When I put the cake pans in the oven, the batter started to rise nicely, but it suddently flattened, and I didn't open the oven door or did something to make it flatten. The taste is not bad, but I couldn't taste the wine or rum at all. I don't know if I did something wrong, but I read the instructions very carefully to make sure I was doing everything right. This fruitcake turned out to be a pain in the neck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2003
I used this recipe and it came out just as I wanted it. I love it and it is just like the Christmas cake my mother bakes in Jamaica. I live in the U.K. now and I have search the internet looking for a good recipe and Sharon's is the best of them all. Although I had the fruit blended instead of having them in as they were just soaked and I have also added 1/2 bottle of red label wine, 1/2 bottle of Grace Browning and even 1/2 cup more of white rum to my cake. While baking I placed a baking tray with water below to ensure my cake remain soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
223 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
I tried this recipe and it was wonderful. I love West Indian fruit cakes and this recipe makes a delicious cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
This is without a doubt the best fruit cake I have ever eaten - even better than my Mom's. I used Merlot to soak the fruit and added a bit more wine at cooking time( the batter seemed a bit dry )It turned out real moist and nice crunchy fruit - give it a try - you will love it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
I have been looking for this recipe for over 5 years. Its the best. This cake reminds me of Christmas's in the Virgin Islands, its a staple for the holidays. This cake came out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SABUYUKCAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
This is a fruit cake that will never be re-gifted or passed on from year-to-year. It will be devoured and leave your family begging for more! It is dense with real fruit, not that candied, artifically colored yuck that is in more traditional fruit cakes. You must take the time to really soak the fruit. My girlfriend from the Caribbean soaks hers for two months before baking the cake, and uses any liquor and combination of dried fruit she has on hand, so be creative! This is now a holiday MUST in our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
Definitely one of the best, if not the best Christmas cake recipes. I'm actually eating a large slice of the cake now and it's delicious. They say the way to a man's heart is through his stomach; I'd recommend this to single women looking for a husband. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Kingston, Jamaica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
This is the best. My kids and I had fun with this recipe. I will keep this recipe and pass it on to anyone who is interested. Thanks a million.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
This is a keeper. Not so dark as one might think. Maybe because I used golden raisins. I also used C'raisins by Ocean Spray. Also, because I believe that you should only cook with what you drink, I used cognac, blackberry liqueur, port wine and white rum - no cheap stuff :). Hence I'll only make it once a year. My husband declared it the best fruit cake he's ever had - and we have some professional bakers in the family (of which I'm not one). It didn't come out as perfectly as I'd hoped, but I think that comes with my inexperience. Definitely give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States