Sharon's Jamaican Fruit Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
This is a REAL Jamaican Fruit Cake recipe - NOT the things that comedians make fun of every holiday season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
Ok, this got 2 stars but only because the flavor is really good. This was a really difficult recipe, partly because the directions don't seem very clear. Specifically, the wine. If you soak the fruit in wine as suggested in the tips in small print on the bottom, are you supposed to use the 2 cups that is listed in the recipe ingredients? Or is that 2 cups in addition to whatever the soaking takes? Same with the rum. I assumed, maybe incorrectly, that it was in addition to what was used in soaking. It did seem a little wet. But maybe it was supposed to... And as far as cooking time goes, I inserted a knife in and it came out clean. Unfortunately after trying to get it out of the pan I discovered that it was cooked on the top, actually starting to get a little darker than I like, and still gooey toward the bottom and very dark on the very bottom. The cooked part must have been scraping off the gooey part as I was removing the knife. So, I have a very good tasting but gooey mess that will be eaten by my immediate family (who are used to being guinea pigs) instead of something special I had wanted to take to a family dinner tonight. Fortunately there's still time to go to the store for something else. Some additional direction clarification by those who have been successful with this recipe would be helpful. I'd try it again if such help were available since as I said, the taste even of the goo was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
This is a keeper. Not so dark as one might think. Maybe because I used golden raisins. I also used C'raisins by Ocean Spray. Also, because I believe that you should only cook with what you drink, I used cognac, blackberry liqueur, port wine and white rum - no cheap stuff :). Hence I'll only make it once a year. My husband declared it the best fruit cake he's ever had - and we have some professional bakers in the family (of which I'm not one). It didn't come out as perfectly as I'd hoped, but I think that comes with my inexperience. Definitely give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
This is the best. My kids and I had fun with this recipe. I will keep this recipe and pass it on to anyone who is interested. Thanks a million.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
Definitely one of the best, if not the best Christmas cake recipes. I'm actually eating a large slice of the cake now and it's delicious. They say the way to a man's heart is through his stomach; I'd recommend this to single women looking for a husband. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Kingston, Jamaica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
This is a fruit cake that will never be re-gifted or passed on from year-to-year. It will be devoured and leave your family begging for more! It is dense with real fruit, not that candied, artifically colored yuck that is in more traditional fruit cakes. You must take the time to really soak the fruit. My girlfriend from the Caribbean soaks hers for two months before baking the cake, and uses any liquor and combination of dried fruit she has on hand, so be creative! This is now a holiday MUST in our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
I have been looking for this recipe for over 5 years. Its the best. This cake reminds me of Christmas's in the Virgin Islands, its a staple for the holidays. This cake came out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SABUYUKCAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
This is without a doubt the best fruit cake I have ever eaten - even better than my Mom's. I used Merlot to soak the fruit and added a bit more wine at cooking time( the batter seemed a bit dry )It turned out real moist and nice crunchy fruit - give it a try - you will love it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
I tried this recipe and it was wonderful. I love West Indian fruit cakes and this recipe makes a delicious cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2003
I used this recipe and it came out just as I wanted it. I love it and it is just like the Christmas cake my mother bakes in Jamaica. I live in the U.K. now and I have search the internet looking for a good recipe and Sharon's is the best of them all. Although I had the fruit blended instead of having them in as they were just soaked and I have also added 1/2 bottle of red label wine, 1/2 bottle of Grace Browning and even 1/2 cup more of white rum to my cake. While baking I placed a baking tray with water below to ensure my cake remain soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
200 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States