Sharon's Jamaican Fruit Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
One of the best recipes I've ever made. I made it last year('07) and I am planning on making it a yearly tradition. I already have my fruits soaking! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
Like some of the other reviewers, I thought this recipe was a little vague. I soaked the fruit for several weeks in the wine and didn't add anymore wine to the batter. The cakes baked beautifully and smelled divine. Unfortunately, I gave both of them away as presents! I didn't even get a taste. I got great comments from the receivers, so I will definitely try it again. I used a mix of a lot of dried fruits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEXASNANA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
The best "wine cake" I've ever eaten using this recipe- and I bake this every year. I made it for Christmas and everyone loved it. I even saved one pan of cake for New Year's (just soaked with wine and cover it) in the refrigerator and it was wonderful. Many thanks, Sharon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronxville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
I've made this recipe two years in a row now, and I am pretty happy with it. Note that I macerate the dried fruit in the wine, and do not add any additional wine when I make the batter. Also, I bake at a much lower temperature (~275). I suggest a drier wine or more acidic fruit. I made mine with dates, raisins, prunes, and a few cranberries, and it really would have benefited from less prunes and more cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Berkley, Michigan, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
This is a great recipe. But...it needs 5 cups of flour, not 2 1/2. I use 3 white and 2 whole wheat. I use l pound of delux glace fruit mix and 1 1/2 lbs. of raisins. I soak the fruit in 3 cups of dry red wine. Now...all fruit cake needs nuts!I use 8 0z. each of almonds and pecans...chopped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
This recipe was very easy to follow and the final result was ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS my family and friends keep asking for more. I just added some browning as I like my cake to very dark and I used raisins that had been soaking in wine and rum for months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
this came out great! my mother always told me about how she used to make her jamaican rum cakes with her mother. and after so many years we finally made one. the batter was a little bit to watery so we added more flower. but other than that this recipe was the best!! and we werent sure if we were supposed to add more red wine or if it was the wine used to soak tje fruits so we didnt add more and it turned out fine. definately will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
THIS IS THE BEST! Well atleast that is the reviews I have gotten since Christmas. I had never attempted a fruitcake before and this year did it to surprise my husband who is also a Chef. He LOVES it as did my Dad who normally only eats my Grandmother's. Unlike most fruit cakes...this one is rich and moist, using the real dried fruit (which I soaked for a week in the fridge with 2 cups red wine) sets it above all others! If you want to make an award winning (well atleast in our family) fruitcake, then this is the one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buttrflylace3535

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
This is a REAL Jamaican Fruit Cake recipe - NOT the things that comedians make fun of every holiday season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
Ok, this got 2 stars but only because the flavor is really good. This was a really difficult recipe, partly because the directions don't seem very clear. Specifically, the wine. If you soak the fruit in wine as suggested in the tips in small print on the bottom, are you supposed to use the 2 cups that is listed in the recipe ingredients? Or is that 2 cups in addition to whatever the soaking takes? Same with the rum. I assumed, maybe incorrectly, that it was in addition to what was used in soaking. It did seem a little wet. But maybe it was supposed to... And as far as cooking time goes, I inserted a knife in and it came out clean. Unfortunately after trying to get it out of the pan I discovered that it was cooked on the top, actually starting to get a little darker than I like, and still gooey toward the bottom and very dark on the very bottom. The cooked part must have been scraping off the gooey part as I was removing the knife. So, I have a very good tasting but gooey mess that will be eaten by my immediate family (who are used to being guinea pigs) instead of something special I had wanted to take to a family dinner tonight. Fortunately there's still time to go to the store for something else. Some additional direction clarification by those who have been successful with this recipe would be helpful. I'd try it again if such help were available since as I said, the taste even of the goo was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States