Sharon's Jamaican Fruit Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
This was my first fruit cake and turned out great. I did soak the fruit in the red wine for 1 week and added 1/4 cup "spiced rum". Only problem was that I needed to use 3 pans not 2 and reduced cooking time to 1 hour. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Oh my gosh it came out perfect I will aways use this recipe. I had to incresase some of the spices and add Grace browning, but other than that it came out great. Thx Sharon your recipe really helped
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I make my cake from this recipe for the first time at christmas 2008 and we enjoyed it very much. But, I had my fruit soaking in wine for a few months. I crushed the fruit instead of using it whole. I used brandy instead of white rum (I did not have any). I put more colouring in to get a darker effect I also put more brandy than recommemded. It was very very nice. I am going to make it again and I have recommended to all my family and friends
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I made this cake for the first time over the weekend. I have had to always buy my fruit cake so I decided to try it out. It delicious and moist I used the idea from a member to put a pan of water at the bottom of the oven. I was really moist. I did not add any more rum to the mixture. A note is put it in the pan as the receipe says the abtter won't rise much so you won't end up with four flat cake (:) cakes as i did. I will do it again today as all mine was eaten by the family. These one as christmas presents.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alpena, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Don't believe the other reviews. They must all be adjusting the recipe to make it work. So if you're good at improvising, try it. Otherwise forget it! I just made it. It's burned -- 350 F for 1.5 hours is too long. Its flavor isn't all that great -- I've had real caribbean fruit cake made by a woman from Guyana that tasted much better. And it's not even dark -- mine is a golden blonde color. It looks like a sponge cake with dried fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
One of the best recipes I've ever made. I made it last year('07) and I am planning on making it a yearly tradition. I already have my fruits soaking! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
Like some of the other reviewers, I thought this recipe was a little vague. I soaked the fruit for several weeks in the wine and didn't add anymore wine to the batter. The cakes baked beautifully and smelled divine. Unfortunately, I gave both of them away as presents! I didn't even get a taste. I got great comments from the receivers, so I will definitely try it again. I used a mix of a lot of dried fruits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEXASNANA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
The best "wine cake" I've ever eaten using this recipe- and I bake this every year. I made it for Christmas and everyone loved it. I even saved one pan of cake for New Year's (just soaked with wine and cover it) in the refrigerator and it was wonderful. Many thanks, Sharon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronxville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
I've made this recipe two years in a row now, and I am pretty happy with it. Note that I macerate the dried fruit in the wine, and do not add any additional wine when I make the batter. Also, I bake at a much lower temperature (~275). I suggest a drier wine or more acidic fruit. I made mine with dates, raisins, prunes, and a few cranberries, and it really would have benefited from less prunes and more cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Berkley, Michigan, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States