Sharon's Jamaican Fruit Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I tried this last year, but I made sure I read all of the reviews first. My cakes came out beautifully, but I had to make some changes. First of all you must add more flour to this recipe, use your own judgment based on the consistency of the batter. Next, if you like it dark, then use more browning sauce. With regard to the rum/wine/brandy, like another reviewer said, I only put what I drink, so I soaked my fruits for a week, then boiled them on the stove for about an hour over medium low heat. I soaked them in Jamaican Appleton Brown Rum. That was fun! The most important thing I had to change for this recipe was the baking temperature. This has to bake slowly, I turned my oven down to 250-275 for almost 1.5 hours. It is not going to rise much, if at all, but thats how a real rum fruitcake is. Once you take the cakes out, pour more rum, wine, etc over them for that great moist taste. I am getting ready to make my batch for this year, my husband keeps reminding me, he loves this cake and can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Very disappointing recipe. Hubby found this recipe and I was very concerned with it. Directions were not clear. Way more batter than says and burned to a crisp in 35 mins! Very expensive mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Noel, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
I agree with the other reviewer that it needs more flour. Could it be a typo? I think it should use 5 cups of flour for the recipe to work. I was disappointed with the result as mine came out too wet. Itrose up & ended up flat. I feel I have wasted time and money trying this out..... The batter was way too much for 2, 9" pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Baking is my hobby but I have never baked a fruit cake simply because it is so tedious! However, I decided to give it a go last Christmas. This is a very simple receipe yet came out tasting full-bodied. I too had a few questions along the way so I modify it. So for those of you who like to try, I hope my notes are helpful. 1) I only soak the fruits for 2 days. I used half store bought fruit mix and half of whatever dried fruits I have. They are cranberry, prunes and dates. The fruits totally absorbed the wine so I had no more liquid when I add to the cake. I read somewhere to go easy on the prunes, so note to self for next round. Use some extra flour, not too much, to coat the fruit before adding. This is to prevent it from sinking to the bottom of the pan. Don't be obsessed with it though, the fruits will still be quite sticky. 2) When adding the eggs, add in one at the time. Beat till combine then add the next one. 3) I add more rum than stated and some wine, it really gives the cake a nice kick. 3) I lined the pan with foil. Again I read somewhere that it helps to keep the edge soft and not hard. 4) Someone told me to bake it "bain marie" meaning to set the pan on a bigger pan filled with water to keep it moist. However, this make the cake more like pudding so it was more sticky. Overall, the cake got pretty good reviews and my husband love it. I will defintely try again and this time I will just baked it as usual. Thanks Sharon for such a simple yet wonderful receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SRT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
i have never made a fruit cake before so i tried this recipe this christmas and and i must say this fruit cake reminds me of the ones my mother used to make it was light and fruity, i blender my fruits together and soaked for a couple of days in ruby rich wine and it was excellent. thank you sharon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cornelia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
This was my first fruit cake and turned out great. I did soak the fruit in the red wine for 1 week and added 1/4 cup "spiced rum". Only problem was that I needed to use 3 pans not 2 and reduced cooking time to 1 hour. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Oh my gosh it came out perfect I will aways use this recipe. I had to incresase some of the spices and add Grace browning, but other than that it came out great. Thx Sharon your recipe really helped
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I make my cake from this recipe for the first time at christmas 2008 and we enjoyed it very much. But, I had my fruit soaking in wine for a few months. I crushed the fruit instead of using it whole. I used brandy instead of white rum (I did not have any). I put more colouring in to get a darker effect I also put more brandy than recommemded. It was very very nice. I am going to make it again and I have recommended to all my family and friends
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I made this cake for the first time over the weekend. I have had to always buy my fruit cake so I decided to try it out. It delicious and moist I used the idea from a member to put a pan of water at the bottom of the oven. I was really moist. I did not add any more rum to the mixture. A note is put it in the pan as the receipe says the abtter won't rise much so you won't end up with four flat cake (:) cakes as i did. I will do it again today as all mine was eaten by the family. These one as christmas presents.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alpena, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States