Shari's Streusel Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
The taste was excellent. The recipe easy to follow. My only complaint was that in order to make a thick streusal cake we had to double the recipe. But thats easy. Great recipe. Will definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
I made this after reading the reviews and decided to make it anyway. I thought is was great. So did my mom, my fiance and his brother. I suggest using 2/3 of the batter in a the pan suggested and dot the rest on top of the topping. It was not thick and cakelike as a tradional "coffee cake" is, but this was lite and delicate like a "streusel" should be. I have found a coffee cake recipe that i will always use. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
This was a quick and simple recipe that was quite delicious. Make sure to use a 8x8 pan and i used milk instead of half and half. For shortening I switched with butter and used about a tad more than 1/4 cup. I make a lot of dessert which I always use butter over other product since it give dishes better taste and moistness if your not to worried over calorie :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
I'm quite happy with this recipe. I doubled it, used milk instead of half and half because that's all I had and no nuts because I didn't have any. It's very tasty, goes great with tea or coffee. It's just a simple, basic coffee cake. Just what I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustinaKay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
Overall I thought this was a really good coffee cake. I made a few changes though. I doubled the recipe because after reading many other reviews saying it wasn't thick enough, I decided to go ahead and do it. I added a half cup of sour cream to make it more moist and used milk instead of half-and-half. I got lots of compliments and I will definately be making it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia Jaeger
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
I'd give this three stars as written but five with changes. I have the same recipe but everything on this one is halved. When you double your ingredients there is no need to double the eggs. I always make mine with 2. Also milk can be used in place of the half/half. Use 1 Tablespoon and 1 teaspoon baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
I don't usually review a recipe if it is under a 4, but I feel that this recipe could be much better if you substitute butter for shortening. It is not quite so light, but has more body and a much better flavour. Of course this is a personal preference. Anyway, I will make it again with these changes and keep it in my files because it is a simple coffe cake very good eaten fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
I'm reviewing only the Streusel Topping, not the entire recipe. I was searching for a topping recipe to accompany some mini pear walnut spice cakes as a topping and using some of the streusel topping for a middle layer and topping on a pear walnut spice dessert bread. The topping was great. Easy, quick and had a good delicate flavor and nice balance of ingredients. It went great with my cake and was greatly enjoyed by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikolette T

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I am making this now. After reading the reviews, I also used butter. The other change I made is instead of half & half, I used liquid hazlenut coffee creamer. I didn't have walnuts, so used pecans. I did put it in an 8x8 pan. Smelling pretty good. OK - done and cooled a bit. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
double the recipe or use a 8x8 pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States